Best position for the Autoquad6 board

Info and discussion about the original AQ v6 flight controller

Best position for the Autoquad6 board

Postby soul4u » Thu May 14, 2015 9:05 am

Hi, after first successfull flights I want to redesign the frame.
Now I ask myself how to do the best positioning for the board.
The general position is flat with the ftdi connections to the back, DIMU looking up.

For Z axis is the best position the level of the rotors or center of gravity which will be about half of the motor height?
For X and Y is the center of gravity of the frame the best position, or a few millimeters next?

I couldnt find any information in detail, so any thoughts are welcome!
soul4u
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 8:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Best position for the Autoquad6 board

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Thu May 14, 2015 10:29 am

Hi
AQ should sit in the COG of your frame.
soul4u wrote:The general position is flat with the ftdi connections to the back, DIMU looking up.

Nope! From the wiki:
Any AutoQuad board can be mounted facing whichever direction you want (rotation). Also, any AQ that is based on a DIMU (M4 or AQ6 with add-on) can be flipped 180 degrees around the pith or roll axis so that it can be mounted upside down. This is especially handy for M4 where you might need to flip it upside down to give better access to the expansion headers.

Between the two options, you have complete freedom to mount your DIMU based AQ board anyway you will want. You can find the settings in the “Misc. Settings” tab in QGC.

So you're free to rotate it and/or flip it, whatever fits best.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Best position for the Autoquad6 board

Postby soul4u » Thu May 14, 2015 10:57 am

Ok, I have to explain better. The general position of my board in my frame is flat with the ftdi connections to the back, DIMU looking up.
I did read the WIKI and know about the settings.

The gyro sensors on the board seem not to be exactly in the middle of the board, so I wonder if it makes sense to change the board position exactly with the sensors to the center of mass...talking about millimeters.
Is this nonsense, or can that help to optimise?
I do a new CAD construction, so that can be easily considered if it makes sense.
Last edited by soul4u on Thu May 14, 2015 4:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
soul4u
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 8:46 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Best position for the Autoquad6 board

Postby bn999 » Thu May 14, 2015 2:16 pm

The rate sensors (GYO) can be anywhere on the rigid structure of the craft and will not effect their performance. However the acceleration sensors (ACC) need to be close to the center of mass for best performance. It just so happens that both sensors are in the same chip, so keeping the board close to the CoM will work best. A few CM of offset will not be noticeable, but the the deleterious effect will increase as an exponential function of the offset so larger differences will start to become a problem.
bn999
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: Best position for the Autoquad6 board

Postby soul4u » Thu May 14, 2015 4:13 pm

bnn999 thats what I was asking for, thank you very much!
So it will be accurate enough, when the middle of the board is in the centre of mass?
Most copters I have seen dont consider the height where the board is placed?!
I will find out the CoM in Z axis when the camera and battery are attached.
I want to give the AQ6 best possible conditions to perrform although the first flight already was satisfying.
You know how it is...just finished and already ideas for the next release.
soul4u
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 8:46 pm
Location: Germany


Return to AutoQuad 6 Flight Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron