Kiss ESC and Quatos

The new control algorithm for AutoQuad flight controllers.

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:41 am

brat002 wrote:Does any video tutor of quatos tuning available?

The easiest way for tuning is assigning A1 and A2 to a channel (poti or digital trim) on your TX. You then 'dial' the parameters in while flying (or on the ground).
If your craft is not vibrating/shaking and your yaw control is good (switch to PH, set HOME and Yaw a certain angle while in HOME position. Now switch RTH --> your craft should yaw into home pos without overshooting).

I tried to give some tuning tips in the 'backyard' videos with the RCTSpider and the CamCruiser

aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby brat002 » Sat Sep 26, 2015 4:09 pm

Today is rain :(
What parameter I have to tune for fix some wobbles when giving full throttle up after fast descent?
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby brat002 » Sat Sep 26, 2015 5:58 pm

I have a question about frame geometry description. My lipo mounted with z offset. I have to split it by 2 cubes? What if cubes will cross? It is error? My frame has complex landing skid with many crosses each by each parts. I have to split it for cubes that is not crossed?
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby chschmid » Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:25 pm

It is important, that Quatos knows mass and CG. But regarding the CG, Quatos is forgiving little mistakes.
I usually put the main body on a scale for mass and make an educated guess for the CG. e.g. hold the body tilted by 90° and try to have it balanced. There is your CG in Z. The battery is easy. Mass and CG in the middle.
Lander same.
Use one mass with one description. You can do it even easier:
http://forum.autoquad.org/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=3853&hilit=steve+quatos+mass&start=10

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby brat002 » Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:45 pm

I attached my current xml file. Could anybody review it for crtical errors?
Attachments
Warthox_black_king_new.xml.gz
(1.25 KiB) Downloaded 355 times
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby Mullet » Sun Sep 27, 2015 12:30 am

Joerg a few questions about your tuning while in flight...

AM1 and AM2 need 3 pos switches, right? Values go up, nothing, down or vice-versa?

How do you know what motor saturation looks like? I couldn't see anything in the videos that looked obvious.
Mullet
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:56 am
Location: Fairfield County Connecticut

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:48 am

Mullet wrote:AM1 and AM2 need 3 pos switches, right? Values go up, nothing, down or vice-versa?


No, you need to use a potentiometer (analog channel) or a digital trim.
dx10.jpg
Analog channels on DX10 - I use the left for A1, the right for A2
dx10.jpg (137.74 KiB) Viewed 7828 times

dx8.jpg
Digital trims on DX8. I prefer to use both digital trims (left one always for A1, right for A2; keeps it simple to remember) in favor of the potentiometer.
dx8.jpg (79.3 KiB) Viewed 7828 times


Mullet wrote:How do you know what motor saturation looks like? I couldn't see anything in the videos that looked obvious.

When you see them 'in flight' it's quite obvious: craft will usually go down!
You need to log some data during the flight for analysis. Hight RPM (thrust) change request will result in this --> you can see in the log if your motor is able to deliver it or if it clips.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby brat002 » Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:59 pm

My Android GCS does not shows telemetry data after flashing Mennos firmware to M4. How to make it working again?
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby Mullet » Sun Sep 27, 2015 10:05 pm

brat002 - I think you have to set HOTT to 0 in the telemetry section of QGC. I believe I had this when I was setting up my Micro Minim OSD.

Joerg - so it looks like since I have a DX7s I can only use AUX2 as an analog pot, thus only changing AM1 or AM2, not both at the same time. Otherwise, is there another way to set this up? Does the M4 give a beeper indication (if one is attached) when changing values? One of the nice things about CleanFlight and a Naze32 board is that it will do this when doing in-flight programming.
Mullet
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:56 am
Location: Fairfield County Connecticut

Re: Kiss ESC and Quatos

Postby brat002 » Sat Oct 03, 2015 8:59 pm

I got solid flight machine with awesome performance and want to setup another one copter with 6s. Will Kiss ESC 30a work with Mennos firmware and quatos?
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Quatos Adaptive Control

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest