Page 1 of 1

Is my temperature sensor broken?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 7:55 pm
by HeliHenkie
Hi all,

Today I made a couple of static logs for the "fully temperature compensated IMU" procedure.
My board is a brand new AQ6 board with DIMU extension board.
All sensors give perfect results over the total temperature range, but the tempature sensor does not.
Somewhere in the temperature range below -4 degrees C something is wrong (see attached picture).
The temperature data over this temperature look normal.
All my static logs show a similar pattern as the one posted here.

Did anyone encounter a similar problem, know what the possible cause could be or how to solve it?
Where is the temperature sensor located? Is it on the main board or on the DIMU extension board?

Flying behaviour with just the onboard MAG calibration and DIMU tare is great.

Best regards,

Jan Willem
The Netherlands

Re: Is my temperature sensor broken?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:09 pm
by chschmid
Hi Jan Willem

I would go with the onboard tools.
Maybe you have some condensation causing this. Hard to tell.

Cheers
Christof

Re: Is my temperature sensor broken?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:20 pm
by HeliHenkie
@Christoff: thanks for your reply. Temperatures are below zero in the Netherlands at this moment. That's the reason I'd like to do the full temperature compensation, instead of the onboard tools. I've considered a condensation glitch as the reason of the strange data. Do you know which chip is used for temperature measurement? Is it the mpu6000 on the DIMU or another chip on the AQ board. That would make solving the problem easier.

Best regards,

Jan Willem

Re: Is my temperature sensor broken?

PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:41 pm
by chschmid
Hi Jan Willem

I am very sorry, but that goes beyond my knowledge.

Cheers
Christof

Re: Is my temperature sensor broken?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 1:09 am
by LPR
Jan

You can lower the chance of having a problem with condensation by not closing the container that you have the AQ 6 board in till you're ready to take the container out of the freezer.

If you close a container before you place in in a freezer you may lock high humidity in it.

Larry

Re: Is my temperature sensor broken?

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:08 pm
by bn999
HeliHenkie wrote: Do you know which chip is used for temperature measurement? Is it the mpu6000 on the DIMU or another chip on the AQ board. That would make solving the problem easier.


The logged temperature is an average of temperature measurements available. On your IMU, that would be the MPU6K & MS5611.

Don't know what you have there, never seen it before. Are the rest of the measurements from those two chips sane?