Can't find MOT_CAN

Info & Discussions about good ole AQ6, taken to the next level.

Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby Astudillo » Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:15 pm

Hey Guy's,

im trying to test my esc32 on the CAN bus, on the esc side i put the CAN ID on 1.
Motor1 is on CAN and motors 2-4 are on PWM so its 1000 = 8 on decimal right?
But in the qgc i can't find CAN_MOT, only CAN_MOTL and CAN_MOTH. What should i fill in there?
I'm using firmware r373.

Cheers,
Ray
Astudillo
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:23 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby chschmid » Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:39 pm

Hi Ray

Use MOT_CANL.

Best
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby bn999 » Thu Apr 17, 2014 2:57 pm

For a single CAN ESC with ID # 1, MOT_CANL == 1 and MOT_CANH == 0
bn999
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby afernan » Tue Apr 22, 2014 3:33 pm

So, for an HEXA full CANed:
00111111 = decimal 63.
MOT_CAN = 15

So:
MOT_CANL = 15
MOT_CANH = 0
Is that correct? (some more explanation in wiki is wellcome)
afernan
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:24 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby joebar.rc » Tue Apr 22, 2014 3:38 pm

afernan wrote:So, for an HEXA full CANed:
00111111 = decimal 63.
MOT_CAN = 15

So:
MOT_CANL = 15
MOT_CANH = 0
Is that correct? (some more explanation in wiki is wellcome)

No, you already had the correct number for canl ; 63
If you put in 15 then only motor 1-4 are can :)
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby afernan » Tue Apr 22, 2014 11:13 pm

Sorry: was a typo:

I mean for an HEXA full CANed:
MOT_CANL = 63
MOT_CANH = 0

Is that correct?
afernan
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:24 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby JussiH » Wed Apr 23, 2014 1:11 am

Yes, thats what I use for Hexa with CAN adress 1 thru 6.

Binary 111111 is 63 in decimal.

Sanity check tool:

http://acc6.its.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~gurw ... 2tool.html
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby Jdmagoo » Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:16 am

JussiH wrote:Yes, thats what I use for Hexa with CAN adress 1 thru 6.

Binary 111111 is 63 in decimal.

Sanity check tool:

http://acc6.its.brooklyn.cuny.edu/~gurw ... 2tool.html


Doesn't GCS allow you to assign which motor is CAN and which is PWM? I thought there was a column under the mixing table to allow for this?

I could be wrong though
Jdmagoo
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:35 am

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby afernan » Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:34 am

Using QGC, you need to define the "MOT_CAN" value in the params table. In the case of a full "CANed" hexa MOT_CAN = 63.

What happen with the MOT_CANH and MOT_CANL? do we need to assign also? (this requires compilation). I guess not.
Attachments
New Picture.jpg
New Picture.jpg (12.69 KiB) Viewed 4082 times
afernan
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:24 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: Can't find MOT_CAN

Postby joebar.rc » Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:44 am

If you have mot_can than you don't use the latest svn release. That's fine and you don't have to worry about mot_canl &h. Some time ago support for uart over can for the future pdb was implemented and that required the split in can_l & h params.

so... When you use a new release you will see them...

Menno
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands


Return to AQ6 +DIMU +CAN

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron