Radio fail starts mission

Info and discussion about the autonomous Micro FC, suitable for nanos, micros and mini multirotors

Re: Radio fail starts mission

Postby Crizz » Sat Nov 07, 2015 8:40 pm

I dont use 10 ch FRsky anymore with my FASST-System, seems to be fauly, have several problems with it. Thats why i tried the Simprop Gigascan Rx. They dont support a "non FS" mode. But main thing seems to be RSSI in this case. So i will think over the WE about a Taranis after i read the manual (in the urgent matters)
Crizz
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:43 pm

Re: Radio fail starts mission

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Nov 07, 2015 9:18 pm

Crizz wrote:I already thought about Taranis, but as x9E. Normally i would be waiting for the "Horus", but i´m in doubt if really will come, too much time left with pre-announcements and stuff.

At next, i have to check about the available receivers. Need 3 PWM-ports for GImbal and restracts, dont know if they have combined receivers, otherwise i use my own ppm decoder, shouldnt be the problem with the Taranis and normal PPM receiver.

Will reconsider


Hi Crizz,
Now that Spektrum started to release their first serial receiver you might want to think about that brand.
The AR7700 is suited perfectly for our copters. A small description is here - http://fpv-community.de/showthread.php? ... usg%E4ngen (sorry, German language only :roll: ) but I will add it in English to the AQ6 CamCruiser build log. The craft is under rebuild (changed lights, motors and RX-setup and from PID to Quatos) atm, but I will add the details there since this is where I will use it first.

By the way: the AR7700 is the ideal 'Remote receiver' for the M4 since it has 3 PWM outputs! This will let you fly PWM ESCs with gimbal control without the need for 'hacking' M1 to M4
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Radio fail starts mission

Postby Crizz » Sat Nov 07, 2015 10:32 pm

I guess i even will sell my Dx6 BE and look for a Dx 9 or 10 :D

for my Ladbird-m4 it was okay, but here at my DeadCat its to much with hacking the M1-M4 ports for Gimbal, Lightcontrol and retracts - to less channels. Was bought in a hurry last year as i could get it for a fair trade, but not my prefered transmitter.

Okay, i see - much options, have to decide which one to handle in the first. Maybe Taranis with Spektrum Tx module , maybe i keep my T10 for the other models and sell the Dx6 instead

btw: meanwhile i tested my Ladybird-m4 for F/S-behavior. Okay, RSSI goes to 0%. But, Spektrum seems to have its own disadvantage : it does not rebind to the transmitter when its back on. My oh my......
Crizz
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:43 pm

Re: Radio fail starts mission

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Nov 07, 2015 10:49 pm

Crizz wrote:I guess i even will sell my Dx6 BE and look for a Dx 9 or 10 :D
...
btw: meanwhile i tested my Ladybird-m4 for F/S-behavior. Okay, RSSI goes to 0%. But, Spektrum seems to have its own disadvantage : it does not rebind to the transmitter when its back on. My oh my......


It should rebind! At least that's what it does with my DX10 and DX8...

Which M4 version do you use on the Ladybird? Guess you use onboard RX only...
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Radio fail starts mission

Postby LPR » Sat Nov 07, 2015 11:04 pm

Crizz wrote:I guess i even will sell my Dx6 BE and look for a Dx 9 or 10 :D

for my Ladbird-m4 it was okay, but here at my DeadCat its to much with hacking the M1-M4 ports for Gimbal, Lightcontrol and retracts - to less channels. Was bought in a hurry last year as i could get it for a fair trade, but not my prefered transmitter.

Okay, i see - much options, have to decide which one to handle in the first. Maybe Taranis with Spektrum Tx module , maybe i keep my T10 for the other models and sell the Dx6 instead

btw: meanwhile i tested my Ladybird-m4 for F/S-behavior. Okay, RSSI goes to 0%. But, Spektrum seems to have its own disadvantage : it does not rebind to the transmitter when its back on. My oh my......


You should be able to reconnect to the M4 if you have the Spektrum Tx on when you start the M4.

Larry
\
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: Radio fail starts mission

Postby Crizz » Sat Nov 07, 2015 11:14 pm

@Joerg: it´s a beta-m4 with the "older" receiver-chip onboard. On a Ladybird setup, an external reeiver doesnt make lots of sense. First tries have been with a Futaba R6007 because i didnt had a Spektrum Tx, but it ws too heavy and extrem low flight time. On my DeadCat i have the actual revision of the m4 board but there i cannot used the onboard receiver because of the needed modding of the motor-pins, its not enough space left in the frame on top of m4 FCU and my Dx6 doesnt solve the problem, i need 8 ch. It was only for a try what i did with the Ladybird-m4, and i wondered that it does not re-bind when i switched the transmitter back on again. I had the problem several times in the beginning, when i switched on transmitter and the Ladybird directly, they didnt bind. At this combination, transmitter needs to be powered on before receiver binds. Have no clue it its the same with the new CYRF-receiver.

Edit : @Larry : myabe you can tell me how to set the m4 to power-off-state during flight after failsafe - then whe have a deal :)

I´m talking about re-binding after failsafe and during operation.
Crizz
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:43 pm

Re: Radio fail starts mission

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sun Nov 08, 2015 8:31 am

Crizz wrote:...On my DeadCat i have the actual revision of the m4 board but there i cannot used the onboard receiver because of the needed modding of the motor-pins, its not enough space left in the frame on top of m4 FCU and my Dx6 doesnt solve the problem, i need 8 ch. ...


Sorry, but don't get the point of this! Making use of the 'motor mod' is not related to the receiver! The only thing you need to add is a antenna with a uFL connector, that's it.This will not increase the total height of the board.

O.K., you still have the problem that your TX does not have enough channels but believe me: you will want to have more than eight!
Think of features like waypoint life recording (needs a trigger-channel) DVH mode (3-pos switch) just to show you that.
A Dx9 is roughly 360EUR, the DX18 (V1 version) is on sale in most shops (since they want to get rid of their stock before everybody want's to buy a V2) for around 550EUR and the DX10 dropped under the 500EUR mark.

AQ firmware is decoding 12-channels (out of 18) atm --> with a DX10 or DX18 you can use them all. No need to worry about not having enough channels anymore..
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Radio fail starts mission

Postby Crizz » Sun Nov 08, 2015 9:50 am

you forgot one little thing : i mentioned that i need 3 PWM-outputs (gimbal and retracts ). So i need to use the motor-outputs m1-m4 and either soldering wires on the pads or rightangle-connectors, and this becomes tricky at mine. And i dont like the solution of wires with plugs, have made it ones for external ppm-input, and its not a clean solution. When i imagine i should do this 4 times (gimbal, retracts and voltage warning) the hairs in my neck rises ;)
Crizz
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:43 pm

Previous

Return to AutoQuad M4 Micro Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron