M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Info and discussion about the autonomous Micro FC, suitable for nanos, micros and mini multirotors

M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby axelnied » Sat Feb 21, 2015 2:03 am

Hi All,

I was successfully testing the M4v2 (R26 was already removed).
After some successful testing only the red LED stayed on, and all other LEDs (yellow flimmer, blue flimmer, green blinking) turned off. I was not able to connect it to the QGCS anymore. Flashing was not possible (="Failed to start").

I was pretty careful not create any shorts. Board was power via a 5V UBEC on VUSB as instructed. When I now connect USB, only the red light would turn on...

How to I re-animate the board?
axelnied
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby axelnied » Sat Feb 21, 2015 3:27 am

I forgot to mention that I was not able to enter boot mode.
I an powering via an FTDI with 3.3V, but when holding the boot botton and then pressing the power button, the red light turns on, but nothing else (yellow and blue not dim).
axelnied
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby Mullet » Sat Feb 21, 2015 6:49 am

Have you tried powering the M4 with a Micro USB cable? not FTDI cable. It sounds like the board is not getting enough power to boot up.
Mullet
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:56 am
Location: Fairfield County Connecticut

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Feb 21, 2015 8:54 am

axelnied wrote:Hi All,

I was successfully testing the M4v2 (R26 was already removed).
After some successful testing only the red LED stayed on, and all other LEDs (yellow flimmer, blue flimmer, green blinking) turned off. I was not able to connect it to the QGCS anymore. Flashing was not possible (="Failed to start").

I was pretty careful not create any shorts. Board was power via a 5V UBEC on VUSB as instructed. When I now connect USB, only the red light would turn on...

How to I re-animate the board?


Did you connect a 5V source to VUSB - AND - a USB connection? I wouldn't recommend to do that :oops:

Don't use any FTDI here! The only thing you need is a USB cable for flashing.
Have you tested with 1S LiPo supply (VUSB SHOULD BE UNCONNECTED FOR THIS TEST)? Remember to push the ON-button to start the board when on 1S.
Maybe you should show us a picture of your setup.

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby axelnied » Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:17 am

Unfortunately I do not have a 1S LiPo, that's why I used the 3.3V from the FTDI... 3.3V vs 3.6V should be okay!?

When connected I am able to turn the board on/off with the switch.
When initially connected to 3.3V and holding the BOOT button and then turning it on, it does not seem to get into boot mode.

Edit: added picture
Attachments
IMG_6643.JPG
axelnied
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:38 am

axelnied wrote:Unfortunately I do not have a 1S LiPo,


I don't think this will give you enough power to supply the M4!

You can use 1S from the balancer connector of your LiPos. The first contact next to GND will give you 1S, the second 2S and so on.
Pictured is a balancer plug from a 2S Lipo. The connections are as follows:
black: GND
yellow: 1 cell
red: 2 cell
SANY0147.JPG
2S balancer plug


If you need a 1S supply you can power the M4 from yellow and black wire. Yellow goes to +, black = GND to - terminal.

Do not try to connect anything between yellow and red!!!!

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby axelnied » Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:44 am

I am aware of the 4.5v on motor connection and 5.0v on VUSB. I was debugging Spektrum connection when the light went out. U.fl connected and making changes to the software. is it possible is somehow fried the processor?
axelnied
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Feb 21, 2015 9:52 am

axelnied wrote: I was debugging Spektrum connection when the light went out. U.fl connected and making changes to the software. is it possible is somehow fried the processor?


What and how did you debug? Using a SWD debugger --> there's no header on your board? What changes did you make?

Boot loader must be operational (you can't erase it) --> thy as suggested with 1S supply. Please use a stock firmware when flashing.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby axelnied » Sat Feb 21, 2015 10:01 am

I followed your instructions to connect via the balancer... by "debugging" in meant trying to get it to work. sorry nothing -fancy- here in my end. I am a mechanical engineer, not software engineer ;-)
axelnied
 
Posts: 262
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: M4v2 red LED solid, no other LEDs

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Feb 21, 2015 11:42 am

axelnied wrote:I followed your instructions to connect via the balancer... by "debugging" in meant trying to get it to work. sorry nothing -fancy- here in my end. I am a mechanical engineer, not software engineer ;-)


Did you push the 'ON'Buttorn? Thats the one near arm no 2 on the bottom side of the PCB (just wanted to mention it again...)

Try to start it in BOOTLOADER mode (http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/m4-microc ... ion-setup/). If it will not start in boot loader mode than I would say it's screwed up :|
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Next

Return to AutoQuad M4 Micro Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron