Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Info and discussion about the autonomous Micro FC, suitable for nanos, micros and mini multirotors

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby kinderkram » Mon Dec 29, 2014 10:47 am

OlliW wrote:
a 6ch Spektrum transmitter at the size of the gamepad (and similar shape) for indoor use
as is, the MLP4DSM provides only 4 channels

(it emits also a 5th and 6th channel, which allows to setup AQ such that you can fly in manual mode, but these channels cannot be controlled)

Yes, it´s limited to 4ch - but for indoor use this should be ok. Except AH you wouldn´t be able to use the other functions anyway.
And maybe we find a way to at least use a 5th channel for AH/PH, too.
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby Kisssys » Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:55 pm

I have felt the need for having a small full feature Transmitter. I took a small tx which I think was from a Ladybug
and used the gimbals and a arduino module to create a 8 channel full function tx. I put a orange TX module in the back.
I need to use this as a start on putting one together that isn't just a hodge podge but this one does everything I need.

I used this code but their are several projects out their.
http://www.reseau.org/arduinorc/

20141229_074700.jpg
20141229_074645.jpg
Steve
Kisssys
Kisssys
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby Flyer324 » Wed Dec 31, 2014 9:09 pm

That is very nice Kisssys and exactly what i need but I had a look at the arduino RC and it looks a little intimidating for me but I'm sure I could do it. Perhaps I could use an arduino to unlock the extra channels in the 4-channel EFlite controller mentioned earlier in this post?

How about this TX?
MLP6DSM?
http://www.amain.com/e-flite-mlp6dsm-6c ... er/p273517
I believe it's a 6-ch TX made for the blade 180qx, should this work with the AQM4's reciever?

My M4v2 board and ladybird parts are on their way :)

Thanks
Flyer324
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:07 am

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby Kisssys » Wed Dec 31, 2014 9:32 pm

I don't have any idea but it's just the right size.
Steve
Kisssys
Kisssys
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby sandmen » Wed Dec 31, 2014 9:44 pm

Currently I develop a spektrum tx based on android and with a small deltang transmitter. 7 channels :-). I will report on a seperate thread.
Hopefully smartphone and a serial2spektrum. Sure, only short range.
sandmen
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:25 am

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby Flyer324 » Sun Jan 04, 2015 7:47 pm

I ordered a MLP6DSM TX to go with my autoquad, I think thats a good cheap portable solution. It has a flight mode switch and I believe it binds to DSM2 recievers. I'll let you guys know.
Image

Hope to get my autoquad parts soon and start building! I'll make a separate post to show my progress. I have already made a small prop guard to go on my M4 to cut with my cnc machine :) but I have to wait for thew parts to come in to get my final dimensions for it.

This is a bit off topic from my original post, but I remember seeing an autoquad M4 video where a guy was using his galaxy S3 as a fpv monitor for his M4. I'm sure some of you guys know the video I'm talking about, Does anyone know how the video was sent to the phone?

Also one more question, I was reading the M4 manual, it says "Power on the AutoQuad – don’t touch the AutoQuad during calibration (1-5 sec)."
I want to bring my M4 offshore with me on a boat, Sometimes the boat is moving with the seas depending on the weather, would this make it impossible for my M4 to complete it's initial calibration and unable to fly?

Thanks for the help guys. I look forward to flying soon and sharing some videos.
Attachments
prop guard M4.JPG
Flyer324
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 8:07 am

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby kinderkram » Sun Jan 04, 2015 8:30 pm

Hi Flyer,

let us know how the radio works out. From what I´ve seen there´s a single switch that you could use for PH if you get it trimmed down far enough. Then there´s a push button for starting the cam and the sticks can be used as push buttons as well. Maybe using a 3way switch and internal rewiring might do the trick.

Here´s the video by Peter aka sandmen:



regarding the last question: if the boat is rolling to much the IMU might not initialise correctly. A pounding boat is even worse. Depending on the boat/ship they might have some mechanical gyro driven gear there, e.g. the oven in the kitchen.
Another possibility would be to play the leveler yourself. With a little practice you might be able to counter act the movement be starting it in a steady hand or on a small plate with a spirit level attached to it.

Image

That could be a fun game for the whole family or other passengers. :D
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby kinderkram » Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:59 am

My MLP4DSM came today and I had instant success! 8-)
I found out that the 5th channel is the push button of the pitch/roll stick and channel 6 is the push button of the throttle/yaw stick.

Now I assigned
CAM Trig = 15
Gimbal Tilt = 16
(to get them out of the way)
Flight Mode = 6 (left push stick)
Home Action = 5 (right push stick)

Since the right push button only has an on/off function it has a default value of 680 which triggers "set home position".
If I push it switches to RTH.
Pushing the left stick and holding it for a second or two would then trigger a mission, which is useless if you don´t have waypoints.

So when I arm, it sets the home position and I should be able to perform RTH. In theory ... haven´t tried in real life.
Hopefully will find some time today.
You only have to keep in mind that pushing the right stick again will set a new home position.

Sadly if I swap channels 5 & 6 the throw of the Yaw channel is limited to +/-400 so I can´t arm.

Will try RTH later if time and weather permits and report back.
Will also do a short write up for the Wiki then...


The red LED on the Tx is a good indicator for the mode: it´s solid in "set home" position and it starts to blink once RTH is triggered.
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby Max » Mon Jan 05, 2015 11:24 am

You lost me on the channels and buttons, but sounds promising! I think. :)

How to the sticks feel? More throw than a gamepad, or about the same?

kinderkram wrote:So when I arm, it sets the home position and I should be able to perform RTH. In theory ... haven´t tried in real life.

You know, Home is set first time you engage PH, not at arming. Or with Set Home switch of course, whichever comes first.

PS. if it's got inputs for channels 5+6 maybe it'll be simple to wire in some 3-way switches instead... :geek:

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: Using Gamepad with Autoquad M4???

Postby kinderkram » Mon Jan 05, 2015 12:17 pm

It´s a 6ch transmitter where the sticks also work as push buttons: press it down to change the mode.

The sticks feel ok, I didn´t change anything else than the channel assignement on my radio setup.
You need to get used to the throttle and yaw but once you get a hang of it, it flies similar to using a big radio.

If we were able to use 3way switches for ch 5&6 it would make a fully functional solution for the M4. :D
Will ask my friend if he`s willing to rewire the channels for it...

Max wrote:
kinderkram wrote:So when I arm, it sets the home position and I should be able to perform RTH. In theory ... haven´t tried in real life.

You know, Home is set first time you engage PH, not at arming. Or with Set Home switch of course, whichever comes first.
-Max

Since the ch5 is always "set home" by default, it sets a new home position once I arm.
At least the communication console says so... ;)
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

PreviousNext

Return to AutoQuad M4 Micro Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron