Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Info and discussion about the autonomous Micro FC, suitable for nanos, micros and mini multirotors

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby Max » Wed Dec 17, 2014 1:12 am

daniel_k wrote:Hi,
I bought an M4-Board yesterday (my christmas present for me :D ), and I want to use it for a small hexa (with simonK BLDC ESCs). Soldering M1-M4 to the board isn't a problem, M5 and M6 will be connected to the expansion board Jussi is
selling.
Which Firmware do I need for this setup and will I able to run Quatos with this setup?

Daniel

Right now you'd use the M4 firmware for "external ESC" but this doesn't get you proper voltage monitoring. You'd have to use a diode or voltage divider from your flight pack voltage to feed M4 with < 4.5V on the main power input pads. However, give us a few days or so and we should have firmware available that will activate the external voltage monitoring pads on the M4 v2. That's all you should need, and we'll have a Quatos version available as well. Note that Quatos w/out ESC32 is very much in experimental stage at the moment, and may require custom firmware build... but once we know what is needed, we should be able to make that available as well (or configurable via params or something).

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby Teletubbie » Thu Dec 18, 2014 9:33 am

BLDC connection in progress.
Attachments
IMG_20141218_092503.jpg
IMG_20141218_092503.jpg (41.49 KiB) Viewed 4634 times
IMG_20141218_092430.jpg
IMG_20141218_092430.jpg (45.25 KiB) Viewed 4634 times
IMG_20141218_092415.jpg
IMG_20141218_092415.jpg (35.23 KiB) Viewed 4634 times
Teletubbie
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 4:59 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby DUKE40 » Fri Dec 19, 2014 6:14 pm

Kisssys wrote:It's actually much easier for brushless. Jussi has expansion boards that give you the M4..M8. To gain access to the PWM that goes to the fets you can access it through these points on the board. They are the PWM outputs that drive the fets but can drive a esc as well if defined as such. You can do an Octo with M1..M8 available.
M2M4_PWM.jpg



Hi Kisssys,

Looking at my M4v2 Board and your picture, one question araises, there are four SMD components, (most probably resistors) are the point M4 the connection of the two most left SMD and M2 the connection between the two most right SMDs?
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby Kisssys » Fri Dec 19, 2014 6:29 pm

Yes, those resistors have a common trace, I have actually flowed solder between the 2 resistors to make a more suitable connection. If you look very close you will see that their is a trace between the 2 resistors and that's the PWM connection you need. You could read with an ohmmeter between the two resistors and they are connected, that would prove your on the correct junction.
Steve
Kisssys
Kisssys
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby DUKE40 » Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:34 pm

Using this board, can I connect it to a 2S Lipo and will it power my M4 without any changes to it?
Further if I had to use a Graupner external RX, which requires between 3.6V and 8.4V how should I power it?
I would like to avoid having to use an additional BEC as it would add weight.
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:46 am

DUKE40 wrote:Using this board, can I connect it to a 2S Lipo and will it power my M4 without any changes to it?


Yes, the M4 expansion board allows to use 2S. No changes to the M4 required!

DUKE40 wrote:Further if I had to use a Graupner external RX, which requires between 3.6V and 8.4V how should I power it?

You can power it via the BT connector. 5V, is available from there.

Will weight the board when I'm back.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Difference between Beta and V2 production boards

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Tue Dec 23, 2014 8:41 am

Hi,

let me update the thread with more info now that the M4 production boards are available. Since the LiPo voltage detector is the main difference when using the M4 expansion board I will focus on this!
More details on the difference between the board is available in the Wiki http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/m4-microc ... functions/
SANY0034.JPG
Beta board (left) side-by-side with a V2 production board (right).
The easiest way to distingish between beta and production boards is by looking at the onboard DC-motor connections!

ATTENTION: Since the V2 boards were using a different receiver chip which is connected to the SPI interface the voltage divider on the expansion board MUST NOT be used! KEEP JP1 OPEN (0r3 M4 expansion boards only) WHEN USING THE EXPANSION BOARDS WITH V2 PRODUCTION boards!

The V2 production boards have an onboard LiPo voltage divider.
SANY0033.JPG
LiPo voltage divider pads on the V2 production version

I've added a JST S3B-ZR-SM4A-TF(LF)(SN) connector to this position (Digikey 455-1694-1-ND). You can also solder some wires directly or use another connector type of your choice.
SANY0036.JPG
JST S3B-ZR-SM4A-TF(LF)(SN) connector added to LiPo voltage connector pads

Adding the CAN connector (provided, JST S2B-ZR(LF)(SN), Digikey 455-1669-ND) and another ZH-series connector for the Spektrum sat (JST B3B-ZR-SM4-TF(LF)(SN), Digikey 455-1682-1-ND) finished the soldering job on the V2 board. All other signals were connected via the expansion connectors.
SANY0037.JPG
JST ZH-series connectors used for CAN (S2B-ZR(LF)(SN)) and Spektrum Sat (B3B-ZR-SM4-TF(LF)(SN)) connections
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby DUKE40 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 8:58 am

Hi Jörg,

and what is connected to the "JST S3B-ZR-SM4A-TF(LF)(SN) connector" for onboard LiPo voltage divider?
I could not find anything about it in the Wiki.
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:06 am

DUKE40 wrote:Hi Jörg,

and what is connected to the "JST S3B-ZR-SM4A-TF(LF)(SN) connector" for onboard LiPo voltage divider?
I could not find anything about it in the Wiki.


This pads were used to sense the flight battery (LiPo) voltage via a onboard voltage divider (10k/1k2; same values as used on the expansion board).
ADC goes to flight battery PLUS (+ terminal), GND to MINUS (- terminal). Flight battery info is needed for low battery alarms.

You're right, description is missing from the Wiki :oops:

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby DUKE40 » Tue Dec 23, 2014 9:13 am

Adn this can be done with a 2S Lipo as well? I want to be sure, as I do not want to get my M4 barbecued :oops:
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

PreviousNext

Return to AutoQuad M4 Micro Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron