Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Info and discussion about the autonomous Micro FC, suitable for nanos, micros and mini multirotors

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby chschmid » Tue May 12, 2015 8:39 pm

Simson wrote:Hi Joerg!
But even with your board I wouldn't be able to use M1....M4 as PWM for ĶISS. Only M5 until M8 is usable.
In my case I need with the use of the internal receiver the channels 5 to 8 to control a gimbal and 1 to 4 for Brushless Motors with KISS ESC's.
On the M4 board is not a ground pad for the Signal ground from the KISS?

Anyway, thanks for your help!


The motor port M5-M8 has nothing to do with your radio channels. Its only the AQ internal timers.
You can use your radio channels 5-8 for your gimbal. and channel 1-4 to fly as long as you define it that way.
The PWM ports used to attach your motors can be selected in QGC.

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby Simson » Tue May 12, 2015 8:49 pm

Perfect Christof, that's what I wanted to hear. That's exactly what I wanted to do.
In terms of the power for the M4 I will use a Pololu.
Cheers, Harry
Simson
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby chschmid » Tue May 12, 2015 9:31 pm

Hi Harry

But you need to do a hack as you do not have enough physical PWM out's. When I remember right, Steve or Joerg posted a "manual" on how to capture the PWM's 1-4 before the onboard brushed ESC.

I would go with a AQ6 with enough physical PWM ports.
Or use the M4 with expansion board and use ESC32 over CAN. Then you need no hack.
Or use a Radio receiver for the gimbal in parallel.

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby Simson » Tue May 12, 2015 10:12 pm

Today I did this "soldering hack". Actually it was not a big problem for me but for this job I recommend a microscope.
I had to do this, because I ordered already KISS ESC's for this project.
Actually I'm still a little bit confused regarding the total channel amount of the internal M4 receiver. When I started with Autoquad I read in the "advertisement" a total amount of 12 channels of the internal receiver. But now it is with the soldering hack of M1 to M4 only 8 plus one input for a spectrum satellite receiver. Where can I pick up the remaining channels?
Cheers, Harry
Last edited by Simson on Tue May 12, 2015 10:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Simson
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: AW: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby Simson » Tue May 12, 2015 10:13 pm

Attachments
uploadfromtaptalk1431465177987.jpg
Simson
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby LPR » Wed May 13, 2015 5:22 am

Harry

The M4 internal Rx, the CYRF, will give you 12 channels. All you need to do is make sure your Tx is outputting 12 channels.
You do not need to use a Spektrum satellite.

Larry
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby chschmid » Wed May 13, 2015 5:37 am

I started with Autoquad I read in the "advertisement" a total amount of 12 channels of the internal receiver.


Hi Harry

Lets see:

12 Radio channels available

These are used by AQ
throttle
yaw
nick
roll
flight mode switch
RTH switch
heading free switch

+ 4 channels gimbal (PWM 5-8)

So you would have one left for use thru one of the hacked PWM ports.

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: AW: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Wed May 13, 2015 6:13 am

uploadfromtaptalk1431465177987.jpg

Simson wrote:In terms of the power for the M4 I will use a Pololu.

Hi Harry,
now I'm getting confused! You're telling us that you want to use a Pololu to power the M4, but you're posting a picture showing the M4 mounted on a N4 expansion board. Is this your setup in the pic?

Simson wrote:In my case I need with the use of the internal receiver the channels 5 to 8 to control a gimbal and 1 to 4 for Brushless Motors with KISS ESC's.

So you want to build a quad, and use 4 channels for gimbal control.

The M4 has max. 9 (!) PWM ports available; they are:
M1 to M4: on-board ESC --> 'wire hack' let's you access the PWM signal for use with external ESCs
M5 to M8: located on the expansion header, routed to 2.54mm pin headers on the N4 i.e.
M9: signal pin of the Spektrum sat connector --> you can't use a Spektrum sat/external PPM or S-BUS receiver if you want to have access to M9

If you want to pass-through a receiver channel to an external component you will have to use a PWM output to do so.
That means you can build your craft as intended (quad--> M1 - M4 used for the motors, M5 to M8 for gimbal) and use the last remaining RX channel (refer to Christof's post above) and output it on M9.

But, before we look further into the magic crystal ball I would appreciate if you could tell me what you intend to do with the last channel and what your real setup is!
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby Simson » Wed May 13, 2015 10:19 pm

You must have a very precise crystal ball. Actually, that's the way I want to go.
When I started with Autoquad I ordered different things from Viacopter. Well, my first idea was the use of a Pololu and after reading the Wiki, I found out that the SD Card Slot is actually essential. Therefore I am happy that I did order the N4 expansion board as well.
I am using a Spektrum DX18 and without the M1 to M4 Hack I would not have enough channels to control the Mobius Gimbal and LEDs.
M9 is already used for a Spektrum Satellit, because I attend to do Long Range flight.

Thanks a lot to all of you guys for the help. It's very much appreciated by me!
Simson
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: Using M4 with BLDCs - Short How to

Postby Mullet » Tue Jul 21, 2015 5:08 am

I have one of the few M4CAN boards.

I was just curious of the full capabilities. So is it possible to use 3 serial type connections (Bluetooth, TX/RX on pin headers, and PC/PC7 sockets), can bus, and 4 pwm outputs? Or are we limited to some degree?
Mullet
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2014 5:56 am
Location: Fairfield County Connecticut

PreviousNext

Return to AutoQuad M4 Micro Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron