CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Post your build logs here

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby LPR » Thu Jun 05, 2014 6:13 am

Joerg, Glenn

I've played with NAV Alt Speed PIDs and found that to increase altitude vertical speed you need to increase the Nav Alt speed OM.
Increasing Nav Alt Speed P and PM seems to increase vertical acceleration from hover to max vertical speed.

Be ready to switch to manual because things can change fast when you make too big of a change in these settings.

Reading the wiki gave me some idea of how all these PIDs are supposed to work.

http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/flying/tu ... on-tuning/

Larry
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby Max » Thu Jun 05, 2014 6:22 am

Ascent rate is limited by PID -> Navigation Altitude Position -> Out Max. param (NAV_ALT_POS_OM). Descent rate limit is the lesser of NAV_ALT_POS_OM or the Misc -> Max. Descent Rate setting (NAV_MAX_DECENT).

Glenn is correct about the max. speed setting (NAV_MAX_SPEED).

This is all in nav.c BTW.

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:21 am

LPR wrote:...
Be ready to switch to manual because things can change fast when you make too big of a change in these settings.

Reading the wiki gave me some idea of how all these PIDs are supposed to work.

http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/flying/tu ... on-tuning/

Larry


Hi Larry,

that's exactly why I asked for an advice on the increment size. There were only three of them mentioning figures.

@all: thanks for the hints! Will kep you posted (and hopefully have a video to show you next time :oops: ).

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Fri Jun 06, 2014 7:32 am

Sorry, no details on tuning today :? --> time for some build update instead 8-)

Received the new WS2812B IntelliLed LED motor mounts (lower part) yesterday. First four pieces were assembled and here they are:

SANY0190.JPG
CamCruiser IntelliLED WS2812B mounts - PCB panels
I've ordered a 4 PCB panel (--> you get 12pcs. in total); the one shared on OshPark is a 2 PCB panel (you will get 6pcs. when ordering --> 4 to use and 2 spares)

SANY0193.JPG
Detail shot of the panel

SANY0194.JPG
Assembled LED mounts besides my Mav2Telem board. The cable to the LED PCB is made from Spektrum satellite cables (buy them cheap at i.e. HK). You will need a 4-pole housing for the contacts: it's the ZHR-4(P) - Digikey 455-1202-ND

SANY0195.JPG

SANY0196.JPG
Close-up of the LED PCBs
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:32 pm

SANY0246.JPG

Introducing the Autoquad M4!
This will go into another CamCruiser Frame --> more to come!
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby DUKE40 » Tue Sep 23, 2014 7:33 pm

Hi Jörg,

do you remember the settings of your ESC32 on you Camcruiser with MN3510-15 and T-Motors 12x4 props?
I am having with this configuration some issues with the motors loosing synch, at least it likes they are loosing synch.
How many Amps did you set for the current limiter for that configuration? Did you remember? Would be helpful.
I am having the issues with 15A which is not that high in my opinion for the configuration.
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Fri Sep 26, 2014 6:25 am

DUKE40 wrote:Hi Jörg,

do you remember the settings of your ESC32 on you Camcruiser with MN3510-15 and T-Motors 12x4 props?
I am having with this configuration some issues with the motors loosing synch, at least it likes they are loosing synch.
How many Amps did you set for the current limiter for that configuration? Did you remember? Would be helpful.
I am having the issues with 15A which is not that high in my opinion for the configuration.


EDIT:
Hi DUKE40,
Sorry, but on first view I can't find the data. Need to search if I've kept them (since I was not satisfied with the result).
Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby Jdmagoo » Fri Nov 28, 2014 11:46 pm

Hows this project coming along?
Did you change the FC to the M4?
What sort of flight time are you receiving?
Did you manage to get the PIDS sorted or are you now using QUATOS?
Have you put a video transmitter on?
Whats the video like from your gimbal?
Are you still using the MN3510-15?

Good work

James
Jdmagoo
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:35 am

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby SuperSharpShooter » Mon Dec 01, 2014 10:48 am

I've had the camcruiser for a while, and am not really a fan of it. I never got it flying perfectly with an AQ board, there was always some uncertainty in the heading, and only having a 2 axis gimbal, this was a dealbreaker.

I've just 3d printed a bracket to mount a 3 axis gimbal on it today, but the gimbal has to stick out a little further than the original, and it makes it bounce on the dampers, so it's pretty much a fail. I'll probably just disassemble it and sell the frame off... Essentially it's competing with a phantom, and a phantom does a better job of hauling a gopro around, while being portable.
-Glenn
SuperSharpShooter
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:44 pm

Re: CamCruiser FPV folding quad - Autoquad goes FPV

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Mon Dec 01, 2014 11:28 am

Jdmagoo wrote:Hows this project coming along?
Did you change the FC to the M4?
What sort of flight time are you receiving?
Did you manage to get the PIDS sorted or are you now using QUATOS?
Have you put a video transmitter on?
Whats the video like from your gimbal?
Are you still using the MN3510-15?

Good work

James


Hi James,

this Setup is still flying as shown in this build-log. The M4 will go into a second CamCruiser frame with Tarot 4006 630kV.

The 1.setup as described in this build log (CamCruiser with MN3510-15 + e-Prop 12x6 + AQ6 + DIMU) will stay on PID,
the 2. Setup (CamCruiser with Taror 4006 630KV + e-Prop 12x6 + M4) will use Quatos.

I'm flying with a Turnigy nanotech 6000mAh/4S LiPo. 15min flight time is rougly 5000mAh (data from Spektrum capacity sensor) --> up to 18min should be possible with this LiPo capacity.

I like the way it is flying on PIDs. Just to notice: it's pretty much flying on Default PIDs which gives you smooth 'cruising' when flying in Position hold/altitude hold. It's pretty fast when you Switch to manual!
Need to post a video (on- and offboard), but the weather is bad atm.

I hope to be able to complete the second one by end of the year (again with a build log). Every data (thrust measuremt of Motor + prop combination) and every part is waiting on my desk for assembly.

It's possible to use a 3D gimbal on that frame. The Picture Shows the DJI Zenmuse on the copter4you Mount.
CamCruiser_Zenmuse3D_Gimbalhalterung1.jpg
Zenmuse 3D gimbal on CamCruiser
CamCruiser_Zenmuse3D_Gimbalhalterung1.jpg (67.35 KiB) Viewed 4279 times


Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Build Logs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron