external power connection

AutoQuad AV/AP settings, gimbal & servo choices

external power connection

Postby codeforge » Sat Oct 13, 2012 4:41 pm

Hi,
i don't know how to connect 2 servo to the AQ giving power from an external battery... There is a draw or a diagram that show how to do?
I won't burn my AQ board.

Thanks
codeforge
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:09 pm

Re: external power connection

Postby epyonxero » Sat Oct 13, 2012 5:50 pm

Just connect the white signal pin from the servo to the AQ and use a 5 or 6V BEC to power the red pin and black pins. Connect the BEC directly to your battery though your power distribution board/wires.
epyonxero
 
Posts: 193
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: external power connection

Postby Asaad » Sat Oct 13, 2012 7:42 pm

Just make sure you don't solder the 5V jumpers for the PWM connector.

Check the bottom of this page:

http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/getting-s ... ler-setup/
Asaad
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: external power connection

Postby codeforge » Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:43 am

is this diagram correct?
Attachments
connection.jpg
connection.jpg (45.61 KiB) Viewed 4480 times
codeforge
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:09 pm

Re: external power connection

Postby Max » Wed Oct 24, 2012 2:39 am

I would connect both leads from the BEC to the servos. And just the signal wire to the AQ. The way you have it, the circuit is completed via the AQ, which is not what you want with a high current draw.

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: external power connection

Postby Max » Wed Oct 24, 2012 3:27 am

Like so...
Attachments
Servos_with_external_voltage_regulator.png
Servos_with_external_voltage_regulator.png (15.73 KiB) Viewed 4480 times
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: external power connection

Postby codeforge » Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:06 am

ok i get the right values in the adc_vin after change the firmware from rev2 to rev1...

Thanks so much :)
codeforge
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 11:09 pm

Re: external power connection

Postby Johan_vV » Sun Nov 04, 2012 6:40 pm

Max wrote:Like so...

Max, Nice schematic. However, im thinking about the GND connection on the "servo side" of the voltage regulator. Wouldn't it be good to connect the GND to the GND PWM pin to make sure that there aren't any voltage differences between the two ground levels that could introduce a current flowing on the signal wire to the servo?

I made a mistake when running PPM where i skipped connecting the GND wire (only connected the signal wire) between the RX and the AQ and that caused me a crash. - probably due to different GND levels which then affected the signal in the signal wire.

im thinking in one of these ways:
Servo1.png
Servo1.png (17.42 KiB) Viewed 4408 times


The internal "wiring" of the voltage regulator probably already looks like this:
Servo2.jpg
Servo2.jpg (24.07 KiB) Viewed 4408 times


Rgrds
Johan_vV
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 3:06 pm

Re: external power connection

Postby Max » Mon Nov 05, 2012 4:22 am

Hi Johan,

That's a good point and needs someone with more practical electronics experience than I have to comment on. I have seen this issue debated in forums back and forth, w/out a clear winner either way... :) Typically it is ESCs being discussed -- whether the ground wire to the controller is needed, or just the signal wire. I think it's the same question with servos. What I don't know/understand is under what conditions would the ground level on the AQ be different than the rest of the common grounding circuit. If this can happen then maybe the answer is to connect the ground pins on the AQ to the common ground circuit (not necessarily directly to the servo/esc). I don't know what's up with the PPM problem and why it's so sensitive, but I've heard of that issue before (with other flight controllers).

From my limited experience/knowledge, the only reason to NOT hook up the ground wire like you suggest is in case the main ground lead from the battery/v.reg gets interrupted. In which case the current will flow through the flight controller. In the case of a couple servos, that might be OK... but in the case of a motor drawing 15A or whatever, probably not so good. Of course with enough current, the circuit will likely close itself via the signal wire anyway, causing all sorts of havoc... :lol:

Cheers,
-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: external power connection

Postby chschmid » Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:02 pm

I use this solution and it works fine. I have some jitter on the roll servo though and I am not sure where its from. Maybe the (cheap) BEC causes that. I will change soon to the CC BEC and see whats comming out.

Johan_vV wrote:
Max wrote:Like so...

Servo2.jpg
Servo2.jpg (24.07 KiB) Viewed 4376 times



Best

Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland


Return to Camera & Gimbal support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest