Baro problem or PID? [semi-solved]

The last Bastion to fine tune your FC matching your airframe & setup

Re: Baro problem or PID?

Postby jet » Mon Jun 29, 2015 5:04 am

Hi, EX_TRUE.
Not yet.
I had tried various AQ6 boards, ESC (not ESC32) and frame kits.
However, this problem still existed.

So, I would try two methods including:
1. Changing to real X-frame. I am waiting for my new frame kit.
2. Adopting Quatos firmware and ESC32.
I would post my results when this problem was resolved.
jet
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:23 am

Re: Baro problem or PID?

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:31 am

jet wrote:Hi, EX_TRUE.
Not yet.
I had tried various AQ6 boards, ESC (not ESC32) and frame kits.
However, this problem still existed.

So, I would try two methods including:
1. Changing to real X-frame. I am waiting for my new frame kit.
2. Adopting Quatos firmware and ESC32.
I would post my results when this problem was resolved.


Have you ever changed (increased) NAV_ALT_SPEED_I ? This should solve the altitude drop when flying forward.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Baro problem or PID?

Postby jet » Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:48 am

aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:
jet wrote:Hi, EX_TRUE.
Not yet.
I had tried various AQ6 boards, ESC (not ESC32) and frame kits.
However, this problem still existed.

So, I would try two methods including:
1. Changing to real X-frame. I am waiting for my new frame kit.
2. Adopting Quatos firmware and ESC32.
I would post my results when this problem was resolved.


Have you ever changed (increased) NAV_ALT_SPEED_I ? This should solve the altitude drop when flying forward.


Hi, aBUGSworstnightmare.
Yes, PID had been tuned many times.
However, the results were not good as well as I guessed.
In my case, the temperature of Baro seemed to affect the accuracy of altitude.
After 4 or 5 minutes, the difference between UKF_ALT and UKF_PRES_ALT was clear.
Thanks for help.
jet
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:23 am

Re: Baro problem or PID?

Postby EX_TRUE » Mon Jun 29, 2015 2:23 pm

I have read many subject,
it seems that there were many people have met this problem and they can't resolve by tuning the pid values.
Is it because the problem of control or sensor problem.
EX_TRUE
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 8:57 am

Re: Baro problem or PID?

Postby jet » Mon Jun 29, 2015 3:12 pm

EX_TRUE wrote:I have read many subject,
it seems that there were many people have met this problem and they can't resolve by tuning the pid values.
Is it because the problem of control or sensor problem.


Hi, EX_TRUE.
I ever doubted whether the problem was caused by my AQ6.
However, some AQ6 members did not meet this problem.
So, I did not know what the actual problem was.
Thus, I am ready to use Quatos so as to reduce the complexity of PID tuning.
jet
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:23 am

Re: Baro problem or PID?

Postby EX_TRUE » Tue Jun 30, 2015 1:29 pm

Hi, jet

Today, I tried the old version of AQ firmware, ie FW.V7.0-EXPR r416 b1794 HW .6r1,
the quad did not drop a lot as before. That's quite satisfied.

I check souce code changed of AQ, it added the alt_ukf.c and alt_ukf.h which use accel and baro kalman filter
to get ALT_POS for altitude control(gps hacc > 0.8) since r428.

I wonder if these changes would do badly to altitude control.

Thanks.
EX_TRUE
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 8:57 am

Re: Baro problem or PID?

Postby jet » Tue Jun 30, 2015 4:57 pm

Hi, EX_TRUE,
That's interesting.
I did not try the old firmwares yet.
I will try the old firmwares tomorrow and let you know my results.
However, if the old firmwares work well for altitude control, we may face the similar problem in the further firmwares :( .
Thanks again.
jet
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:23 am

Re: Baro problem or PID?

Postby jet » Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:18 am

Hi, EX_TRUE.
You are correct!
Comparing to 1848 and 1952 firmwares, when I used 1794 firmware, the altitude hold was good.
If Quatos was still poor for altitude hold, using old firmwares may be a solution ><....
Thanks again.
jet
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:23 am

Re: Baro problem or PID? [semi-solved]

Postby chschmid » Fri Jul 03, 2015 5:43 am

These changes where introduced to allow a calm transition from AH to PH. In the older FW people reported a heavy jump in alt when the 3D lock set in in flight.

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Baro problem or PID? [semi-solved]

Postby jet » Fri Jul 03, 2015 2:26 pm

Hi, Christof
Thanks for your reply.
I believed that some bugs were fixed in new firmwares.
However, I had difficulty on getting better altitude hold in the latest firmware.
This issue may be considered in the further firmware.
Just a suggestion..
Thanks again.
Jet
jet
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2014 2:23 am

PreviousNext

Return to PID Tuning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests