TPA in Autoquad

The last Bastion to fine tune your FC matching your airframe & setup

TPA in Autoquad

Postby brat002 » Sat May 16, 2015 2:23 pm

Hi everyone.

I still tune PID`s for my M4 board on TBS Discovery frame. Current PID`s allows to hover without oscillations, but when I`m trying fly agressively - quadcopter starts oscillating. It looks as need to configure TPA (Thrust PID`s attenuation) that available in many other firmwares, but I can`t find TPA in Autoquad.
This option exists?
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat May 16, 2015 2:37 pm

In which mode do you fly? Can you post a video so we can see what's going on?
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby brat002 » Sat May 16, 2015 3:37 pm

Problem exists in manual and pos. hold modes. I cant make video. Sorry.
Just for info: my quadcopter is seriously overpowered. Auw about 1400g. Total thrust abobe 4000g.
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby LPR » Sun May 17, 2015 2:07 pm

Unless your PIDs are near default settings you will not get good control. The main reason for not being able to use defaults is VIBRATIONS. With your type of frame the only way I could get vibrations under control was to connect all the motors with a tight string. The string dampens the vibrations. The TBS frame will teach anyone how important controlling vibrations is.

Larry
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby brat002 » Mon May 18, 2015 10:19 am

What is default PID`s? As I can see, default PID`s in AQ6 is different from default PID`s of M4. I used on TBS frame Naza M lite, Quanton with Taulabs firmware, Naze32 full and not any vibrations issues was observed. May be AQ does not have LPF filter for ACC/Gyro?
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby LPR » Mon May 18, 2015 2:58 pm

Connect your AQ board to the QGC. On the Config page look at the Onboard Parameters for the Default button.

To get precise control you need good inputs.

Larry
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby brat002 » Mon May 18, 2015 4:17 pm

It is Defaults for brushed motors as I understand. 32000 D is too much. I roasted my brushless motors with default M4 PID`s. :(
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Mon May 18, 2015 5:28 pm

brat002 wrote:It is Defaults for brushed motors as I understand. 32000 D is too much. I roasted my brushless motors with default M4 PID`s. :(


Too bad! Always stop when it starts smelling :|

brat002 wrote:Defaults

well, that's hard to answer! There are so many different setups out there!
Always test gently! Only try to do a short hover, land, disarm and see if your motors get hot. Also listen to the motors sound. The tell your if they are feeling well or not.

I know what I'm talking about and even made a video for you guys:

A few more seconds on 3S would have burned out the MN2206 motors!
So, start with lower PIDs if you see such reactions!

Joerg

P.S. ATTENTION! YOU SHOULD KNOW WHAT YOU'RE DOING WHEN FLYING CRAFTS INDOOR! THERE'S A HIGH RISK OF DAMAGE/PERSONAL INJURY!!!!! :!: :!: :!: :!:
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby brat002 » Tue May 19, 2015 3:38 pm

https://plus.google.com/115088185602590 ... 2590362535
Here are video where you can see light rapid oscillations in position hold mode. Could you tell me how to fix it?
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: TPA in Autoquad

Postby Max » Tue May 19, 2015 3:46 pm

brat002 wrote:As I can see, default PID`s in AQ6 is different from default PID`s of M4.

Defaults are the same between the 2 models.
brat002 wrote:It is Defaults for brushed motors as I understand.

They're not specific to motor type.

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Next

Return to PID Tuning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron