Interpretation of my calibration results

Static, Dynamic, Log File Analysis, Troubleshooting

Interpretation of my calibration results

Postby HeliHenkie » Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:37 am

Hi all,

I've been experimenting with my aq board for about 6 months now and produced about 10 parameter files for different frames. Yesterday I took some time to load these files on my board and created a couple of 1 minute logs.
Looking at these logs it appears that all the time my calibration has been off.
In none of my logs the accx and accy were exactly zero when put on a flat surface. My accz was always more than 0.1 m/s2 off from 9.806 m/s2.
This poses the following questions:

- What would be the effect on alt/pos hold?
- Will these values get better if I let the calculations run for a couple of days?
- What is the probable cause of this problem? My static or dynamic calibration?
- Did any of you get the accz sensor calibrated within 0.1 m/s2 from 9.806 m/s2?

Best regards,

Jan Willem
HeliHenkie

Re: Interpretation of my calibration results

Postby Max » Wed Apr 10, 2013 10:20 am

Hi Jan,

Another value you can check out using the Telemetry view in QGC (with a recently released firmware) is the "ACC Magnitude". This should be as close as possible to 9.806 when the board is in any orientation. If you hold the board steady on each edge for bit, you should see this value settle down to 1g fairly quickly. In the Values Chart view, you can also see a running average of this value, which can be helpful. If you see differing values for different sides, that is an indication of poor calibration. At least this is how Bill explained it to me once :) "If you find that this number varies a lot from one orientation to another, you need to re-calibrate your sensors."

Similarly, the "MAG Magnitude" is useful for checking the magnetic calibration. Bill says, "It is should be calibrated such that the Earth's magnetic field registers as exactly 2.0."