what osd to use?

Radio, Telemetry, FTDI/USB, ESCs, Motors, etc.

Re: what osd to use?

Postby Max » Sun Mar 06, 2016 9:46 pm

Hi Adam,

Based on Harry's comments here, I suggest you add something like this to MAVLink.ino to handle "rssi" from AQ. The RADIO_STATUS message is always being sent, unlike RC_CHANNELS_RAW. And if both are coming in, it shouldn't hurt anything.

Code: Select all
            case MAVLINK_MSG_ID_RADIO_STATUS:
                {
                    osd_rssi = mavlink_msg_radio_status_get_rssi(&msg);
                }
                break;


Cheers,
-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: what osd to use?

Postby bluuu » Mon Mar 07, 2016 4:56 pm

rssi is from mavlink messages

there are 2 options, from analog pin or from mavlink (default mavlink)

BTW:
libs added
bluuu
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Poland, Silesia

Re: what osd to use?

Postby Max » Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:24 pm

Yea I was suggesting to add that code in order to properly handle RSSI via mavlink from the newer AQ firmware versions. We stopped sending the channel telemetry be default some time in v7.0.

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: what osd to use?

Postby bluuu » Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:27 pm

ok, so i have to update headers too
bluuu
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Poland, Silesia

Re: what osd to use?

Postby Max » Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:45 pm

RADIO_STATUS was added to the common definitions in June 2013. So, if yours is older, probably time to update, yes... :)

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: what osd to use?

Postby Simson » Mon Mar 07, 2016 9:21 pm

Thanks a lot guys, that you are looking in to it and hopefully you can add the new RSSI behaviour in the code.
I appreciate your help.
Harry
Simson
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: what osd to use?

Postby brat002 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 10:27 pm

How controller can detect rssi level from PPM signal?? Does it possible?
brat002
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: AW: what osd to use?

Postby Simson » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:14 am

Morning Adam, did you have a chance to look at the code to get the Radio_Status integrated?
Your MinimOSD Version is fantastic and it's great that it summarises the flight at the end.
If possible could you please update the code to make RSSI Value work with the latest AQ firmware.
I appreciate all the work you have done so far, it has been of great value to me.

Cheers, Harry
Simson
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:07 pm

Re: what osd to use?

Postby bluuu » Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:40 am

sorry, no time left now, but did you tried current version ?
bluuu
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Poland, Silesia

Re: what osd to use?

Postby Simson » Thu Mar 24, 2016 9:47 pm

Hi Adam, yes I checked your current version.
The only thing which doesn't work is the RSSI Value since the last firmware versions. As Max mentioned, sending the channel telemetry is stopped by default since some time and could now be handled in the OSD Firmware.
Simson
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 1:07 pm

Previous

Return to Connections

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron