AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry (update jan 2015)

Radio, Telemetry, FTDI/USB, ESCs, Motors, etc.

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby DUKE40 » Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:13 pm

I assume that I will need either the autoquad_hott_aimu.zip file if I do not want to compile or the AQ_6_HoTT.zip if I wish to compile my own hex file.
By the way is there any reason I should compile my own hex file? I mean perhaps because of the current sensor, some parameters needing to be adapted in the source code, I think I need to adapt the parameters in config_default.h DEFAULT_SPVR_CUR_OFFSET and DEFAULT_SPVR_CUR_RES to the current sensor (ACS715) I am using.
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby DUKE40 » Tue Mar 18, 2014 8:14 pm

How should the current sensor be connected to the Baro2 pad?
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby kinderkram » Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:18 pm

With a bit solder and half of this:

Image
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby DUKE40 » Tue Mar 18, 2014 9:29 pm

Hi Kinderkram,

This would be the solution if I had only the ACS715, but it is already on a breakout board.
Thus I would need to know where I should solder Vcc,GND and OUT on the 2. Baro pad.
I would like to keep my current current sensor as it is very sensitive (133mV/A) and very accurate for my rather low consumption (less than 30A).
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby Jdmagoo » Tue Mar 18, 2014 10:44 pm

Hi Duke,

You can still achieve what your after with the board Kindergram posted. It's a neat way of attaching your breakout board to the Baro 2 port.

Also, there is no need to compile new firmware as the settings your after are adjustable through GCS. Have a look at 'onboard parameters' - 'SPVR'

Cheers

James
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (83.74 KiB) Viewed 13598 times
Jdmagoo
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:35 am

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby DUKE40 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 5:08 am

Hi James,

many thanks for your explanantion. Just one thing concernig the breakout board of Menno, looking at your pictue I see, that there are SMD components which need to be soldered, I have no equipment to solder SMD and wont be able to do that. :( Further do I just need then to connect my current sensor to the white connector on your picture? :oops:
I have the feeling that all this is getting too complex for a normal user, making those great feature unreachable for me and other without proper SMD solder equipment and knowledge. :evil:
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby joebar.rc » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:06 am

kinderkram wrote:Menno, you mentioned to use a BT module on the Graupner MZ - how to?
There have been requests by shy German users.
So they sent me to ask you. :lol:


Good thing I made pictures back then because I'm in Finland now :)
2014-02-17 08.47.37.jpg


and closeup with pin comments..
2014-02-17 08.48.36.jpg


Hope this helps.. BT on 115200

My current version is somewhat more tidy, this was the experimental setup :)
Note: The HoTT transmitter does not know about the module, so the BT menu's will not configure this DIY one. That is only possible with the expensive Graupner BT module.
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby joebar.rc » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:23 am

DUKE40 wrote:Hi James,

many thanks for your explanantion. Just one thing concernig the breakout board of Menno, looking at your pictue I see, that there are SMD components which need to be soldered, I have no equipment to solder SMD and wont be able to do that. :( Further do I just need then to connect my current sensor to the white connector on your picture? :oops:
I have the feeling that all this is getting too complex for a normal user, making those great feature unreachable for me and other without proper SMD solder equipment and knowledge. :evil:


Hi Jean,

Didn't we place a warning that getting into AQ will require lab equipment and soldering skills :).
Nah kiddin, this is hardly SMD soldering, I made the pads big enough for 0805 parts so it can be soldered with normal thin point irons. I also don't have specialized equipment, only patience and a steady hand.

I can help you though with providing a breakout board, I have some left, but you still need to mount it on the pressure pins yourself and that is probably more challenging than soldering the two smd components.
Also with a DIY can board I can help (if you dont need the DIMU), but again, you need to solder the 2x10 pin headers to the AQ.
I know Jussi will provide mounting service for the DIMU, that is the best way, but as an exception I could help you out..

Menno
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby joebar.rc » Wed Mar 19, 2014 9:24 am

I received some PM's about the currentsensor and the need for it when the ESC32 via can are discovered.
Good question: is the currentsensor still needed when the ESC32's are also able to give the current information.

It is indeed possible to use the current info from the ESC32, I need to change some code to use the combined current info, but I feel the currentsensor is stil the best way:
To have accurate currentinfo from the ESC32, it needs to be calibrated and most important: it will not measure the complete copter currentusage. So, the FC, the lights, the gimbals and the esc32's itself are not measured.
It is indeed not the biggest currentdrain, so it can give a relative good estimate.
The current implementation is live data @ low samples, if the esc32 current need to be used, I need to increase the telemetry sample rate and store it for use. Will work on that to give it a try..


Menno
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: AutoQuad native Graupner HoTT telemetry

Postby DUKE40 » Wed Mar 19, 2014 1:35 pm

joebar.rc wrote:
kinderkram wrote:Menno, you mentioned to use a BT module on the Graupner MZ - how to?
There have been requests by shy German users.
So they sent me to ask you. :lol:


Good thing I made pictures back then because I'm in Finland now :)
2014-02-17 08.47.37.jpg


and closeup with pin comments..
2014-02-17 08.48.36.jpg


Hope this helps.. BT on 115200

My current version is somewhat more tidy, this was the experimental setup :)
Note: The HoTT transmitter does not know about the module, so the BT menu's will not configure this DIY one. That is only possible with the expensive Graupner BT module.


Hi Menno,

looks great, will be my next enhancement once I have implemented successfully the Native HoTT telemetry.
Best regards,
Image
Spacewalk 550, MT2216-11, SimonK 20A ESC, AQ6 DIMU, 10x5" CF, SJ4000
CamCruiser, MN3510, ESC32, AQ6 DIMU, 12x4" CF, SimpleBGC, GoPro Hero 3 BE
DUKE40
 
Posts: 364
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 9:49 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Connections

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron