Page 1 of 2

simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 12:56 am
by codeforge
hi,
i read many post on how to use simonk esc but i cannot understand how to calibrate it. I have a ppm encoder and i use autoquad formware 6.6 ppm2 for futaba radio. When i give 5% throttle, only 3 motors start and 1 is stop. if i give 15% the all the motors start. I think my esc aren't calibrated but how to calibrate with ppm encoder? i use a futaba t9cp.

how can i do?

thanks

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 1:03 am
by kinderkram
Which ESCs exactly do you use?
SimonK's usually don't need to be throttle calibrated.
Otherwise you could use your PWM receiver.

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:47 am
by codeforge
i use 25a esc simonk by flyduino:
http://flyduino.net/Flyduino-25A-ESC-SimonK-Firmware

they work great with multiwii, arducopter, naza and wookong.I do the calibration with my receiver in pwm and then i connect the pwm to ppm converter (http://store.diydrones.com/product_p/br-ppme.htm) but when i give throttle not start with others but after that i give more throttle...

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:27 am
by Teletubbie
There are two types of oscillators for the ATMEL used on the ESC. External Crystal Oscillator Resonator and internal which use a capacitor.
The external is preferred because the throttle range is best kept over time, the internal has a tendency to change.
Therefore you need to recalibrate the external version more often. (You find this info also on SimonK forums)

For next time you can find here if the ESC has a External oscillator:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... ZRlE#gid=0

Always calibrate the ESC's after programming. My experience is that due to component differences the range can be different.

Calibrating (yes do the Ext. and Int. oscillator version!):

ALWAYS TAKE YOU PROPS OFF!!!!!

Use a normal receiver, connect the ESC to the throttle channel.

> Receiver on.
> Set full throttle stick
> Power the ESC (if the ESC is not powering the receiver add power to the receiver first before you power the ESC)
> Wait for the beep
> Pull stick back to full-low-throttle
> Wait for the Beep(s)
> Ready

Do this for all the ESC, better to do them all because of the possible temp differences between calibration.
(again most of the time not noticeable but I had the experience that the throttle range was different. I did the throttle a week later).

Have fun.

//Frank

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 7:43 am
by Max
Teletubbie wrote:Use a normal receiver, connect the ESC to the throttle channel.

> Receiver on.
> Set full throttle stick
> Power the ESC (if the ESC is not powering the receiver add power to the receiver first before you power the ESC)
> Wait for the beep
> Pull stick back to full-low-throttle
> Wait for the Beep(s)
> Ready

There is one more step/thing to consider. Remember that in a MR the throttle channel is not directly controlling the motors, the FC is (this is why some FCs have a built-in method for calibrating the ESCs at power up). So when calibrating you have to make sure your throttle ends points will put out the desired PWM pulse which will match the range that AQ is going send. In AQ these are controlled by the Motor/ESC Starting and Max. PWM values (Misc. Settings). By default these are 1125 and 1950, respectively.

So one has to somehow make sure the calibration falls into the correct pulse length range. If you're using the throttle channel on your Tx to calibrate (vs. say a servo tester or some other pulse generator setup), it has to be set up properly. This is going to vary between radios. My radio doesn't show the actual pulse length being sent, so I have to hook it up to something that will. In my case I can use an old Berg Rx I have which can hook up to a UI on a computer and show channel values, or another FC I have which also shows the actual pulse lengths being sent. I can then set the end points to match the AQ MIN/MAX settings and do the calibration from there like Frank described above.

And yes it is essential to calibrate "Simonized" ESCs. They won't even fully start up until calibrated (when newly flashed). A PPM encoder won't (or shouldn't) change the pulse lengths being sent on each channel, so that can be left out of the equation when calibrating.

-Max

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:30 am
by Teletubbie
One of my best buy is a Whisker LCD. Beside a lot of other functions it has a pulse monitor, very handy
if you want to know the output from your receiver or FC.

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:28 am
by Max
Hey that's a nice tool! Looks very handy. Found it here.

Thanks,
-Max

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:54 am
by Teletubbie
And if you are handy programming a Adruino you can use it as serial terminal:

As a Serial Display
If the module is to be used either as a simple LCD display then only three wires are required –
Ground (-ve), Power (+ve), and signal (received signal/data).

If you want the serial display to act as a terminal, i.e. both displaying data from the host and sending data
back when the keys are pressed then a fourth wire is required (transmitted data).

Example:
http://translate.google.com/translate?j ... ation.html

--Frank

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 12:33 pm
by codeforge
thanks for the reply,
i try to use one arduino board and the serial monitor of the ide to check te pulse out from my receiver.

i use autoquad firmware ppm2 from one of user in this forum and the radio signal work very well.

Re: simonk esc calibration

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:52 pm
by codeforge
i do the calibration again (thanks teletubbie) and all work fine. Now i have others problems :) the quad is stable and get hovering with slow response from radio or maybe quad slow to response to transmitter but i post it in pid tuning.

Thanks again for help :)