AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 3 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Ground Stations and utilities for Windows, Linux, Android, & others

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Wed Mar 30, 2016 6:46 am

Hi Luke,

I'm heavily working on a tutorial covering all the steps I did - packed with all commands and screenshots. Yesterday I've started to follow this step-by-step guide for one last time to figure out if I missed one step and/or if I would like to add some more screenshots to a particular step.

This takes some time, so please be patient!

pilotnbr1 wrote:For some reason my QT build and configuration of QGC forced me to select "linux" as the compiler otherwise there was no compiler and it would error out of the build.

All step I'm detailing needs to be done on the Raspberry itself. GCC is part of the Raspbian distribution; nevertheless you should make sure that it's the latest version of the build system
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install build-essential libsdl1.2-dev libudev-dev


pilotnbr1 wrote:The text box with your example commands to install qt and all its dependants has at least one line return so if its copied and pasted you won't get all of the packages. Below it has no breaks-
“sudo apt-get install qtcreator qttools5-dev qtbase5-dev qt5-default qtdeclarative5-dev libqt5svg5-dev libqt5webkit5-dev libsdl1.2-dev build-essential libudev-dev”


Yes, that's true. But it mentions in the 'instructions' that it needs to be one line! This is for sure fixed in the tutorial.

pilotnbr1 wrote:Joerg one thing I would add to a write up would be that if you download an image of jessie and then write it to an sd card (as I did) you need to expand the file sytem through raspi-config prior to downloading updates and such.
Configuring QT5 can be tricky (aka me why I know this) --> I have screenshots for each step!

"EXPAND FILESYSTEM

If you installed Raspbian using NOOBS, you can ignore this section as the file system was expanded automatically during installation. However, if you wrote the image to an SD card yourself, then a portion of the card will be unused; this can be any amount over 3GB. Choosing this option will expand your installation to fill the rest of the SD card, giving you more space to use for files. You will need to reboot the Raspberry Pi to make this available. Note there is no confirmation; selecting the option begins the partition expansion immediately."

If you do not expand the file system the boot partition will fill up and you will get errors that your device is out of memory- like I did with a 64gb card lol....

The setup process itself will be described in detail with lots of Screenshots. Yes, expanding the file system IS the first task after your initial boot. Nevertheless you need to configure some more things too.

Ever tried
Code: Select all
df -h /


command :? This will let you know your partition size/usage.
Such 'basic' things are also part of the tutorial, same as how to use scrot for making screenshots (i.e. for documenting when somethings goes wrong or i.e. when writing tutorials 8-) )
I will also show how to connect a BT keyboard to the RPi; turned out this is a pain in the butt since the BT GUI is pretty useless.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby JussiH » Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:19 am

Joerg,

You are doing a great job and breaking new ground with this. I am looking forward to trying out QGC on a Raspberry Pi3, and I will for sure appreciate the detailed intructions you are putting together for it - I am not that fluent with Linux.

You asked what screen I would use. I have a professional field monitor installed in my GCS case, it is high brightness and contrast and works fine out in the sunlight. It supports both composite, component and HDMI video, so it should be perfect for what I have in mind without having to resort to LVDS.

Once you have finished the instructions, I will put it in the wiki. Pls remember to provide a folder with the screenshots, so that I can add them in full resolution.

Thanks, looking forward to it! Keep up the good work.
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby pilotnbr1 » Wed Mar 30, 2016 12:22 pm

Thanks for taking the time to put all this together Joerg! For as many times as I have installed QGC on my Ubuntu box I can never remember all the steps and I am sure the same will be true for the rpi :lol: . I'll be coming back and using your writeup alot!

I let it QT build QGC last night- lots of errors relating to one integer in autoquad.h but it built on my rpi 2!

Thanks again!

Luke
pilotnbr1
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2015 10:19 pm

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby Max » Wed Mar 30, 2016 1:30 pm

Practically every time I have to set up a new build system, it's different from the last time. That goes double for Linux in general, party because there are so many flavors and mostly because things change pretty rapidly. Instructions that worked yesterday probably won't be 100% correct in a month. And yea, by the time I'm done, I sure as hell can't remember all the steps that led there... :lol: Or what actually worked and what was a red herring. QGC in particular is not a simple build setup.

Anyway, besides adding qt5multimedia to the install list and fixing a carriage return and a couple dupes, what else needs to be fixed in the Readme for Linux build instructions?

Or just fork it, fix it, and send me a pull request... anyone can do that right on GitHub. It's certainly much simpler to figure than how to actually build QGC on Linux. :P

Cheers,
-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby afernan » Thu Mar 31, 2016 6:25 am

@Joerg, Great job there!.
Could you pls detail what Raspberry model are you using? (I want to start preparing the H/W) . I see several types (like Raspberry Pi 3 Model B SBC, etc) soo I´m not sure.
Thanks.
afernan
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:24 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:18 am

afernan wrote:@Joerg, Great job there!.
Could you pls detail what Raspberry model are you using? (I want to start preparing the H/W) . I see several types (like Raspberry Pi 3 Model B SBC, etc) soo I´m not sure.
Thanks.


Hi Angel,
please refer to this post. I will use the new one as 'working thread', and once we have a 'final/verified' status we should put it in the wiki: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=4814

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Thu Mar 31, 2016 1:01 pm

@Max: need your help regarding the make file!
Tried a different approch today:
installed Qt and some more stuff with
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install qt-sdk
sudo apt-get install qtcreator qttools5-dev qtbase5-dev qt5-default qtdeclarative5-dev libqt5svg5-dev libqt5webkit5-dev libsdl1.2-dev build-essential libudev-dev
sudo apt-get install qtmultimedia5-dev

sudo apt-get install gstreamer1.0*
sudo apt-get install libgstreamer1.0*


Project is then configured to use Qt 5.3.2 incl all other required settings; project file closed.

Changed to terminal and made:
cd qgroundcontrol_aq
qmake qgroundcontrol_aq.pro

When finished I let it compile
Code: Select all
make -j4

and finally wanted to install it
Code: Select all
sudo make install


Install script fails due to the error shown below:
2016-03-31-113828_1280x735_scrot.png
chrpath command not found

Checked the makefile and could only find one occurence:
2016-03-31-114406_1278x727_scrot.png
Only occurence of 'chrpath' in makefile


installed the missing packet by
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install chrpath


and started with a new build process (qmake, make, sudo make install) but this still gives me the errors shown below
2016-03-31-144648_1280x735_scrot.png
errors still remain since there seems to be no rpath tag


Thanks for your help and explanation!
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby Max » Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:05 am

Joerg, sorry but I don't know what that error means or why you're getting it. I don't recall needing to do anything special to get chrpath installed (but you know how the memory is). But the whole installer script for Linux is brand new (to QGC and myself), so I wouldn't be surprised if there's some issues, especially on different flavors. Yet another thing to track down... Changing the rpath is important though, the final executable won't be truly portable w/out this step.

You should not need to rebuild the whole thing just to run "make install" at the end for testing solutions (it's mostly just copying files around at this stage, not building anything). Also the install step should be runnable from QtCreator as I mentioned before. Perhaps the syntax was wrong... on my Windows setup it's "make release install" to build and install at once, instead of "make all install" like in my Linux screenshot from earlier. It would be good to "fix" that if possible so it works as intended. One can also create a new build type in Creator for only installing, so just "make install" w/out running qmake first.

The advantage of doing everything via Creator is that it ensures the operating environment is set up correctly for the Qt version being used. If there are multiple Qt versions installed (including any the OS itself installed, eg. KDE relies heavily on Qt), building directly from a command line can lead to confusion.

As for quatosTool, same deal... no idea why it doesn't work on your system. Could be a bitness thing or who knows what. You could try building it yourself since you already have all the tools installed. All the latest sources are here: https://github.com/AutoQuad/utilities

Cheers,
-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby Max » Fri Apr 01, 2016 12:08 am

One other note (this is now way OT), after changing anything in the Qt project config files (.pri or .pro), be sure to run qmake again to generate the Makefiles. QtCreator -> Build -> Run qmake. QtCreator looks like it automatically processes any changes to the project files right after you save them, but this doesn't actually run qmake or regenerate the Makefiles. This is especially true if you're running "make" from outside Creator -- the Makefiles would never get updated.

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Fri Apr 01, 2016 6:37 am

Max wrote:Joerg, sorry but I don't know what that error means or why you're getting it. I don't recall needing to do anything special to get chrpath installed (but you know how the memory is). But the whole installer script for Linux is brand new (to QGC and myself), so I wouldn't be surprised if there's some issues, especially on different flavors. Yet another thing to track down... Changing the rpath is important though, the final executable won't be truly portable w/out this step.

You should not need to rebuild the whole thing just to run "make install" at the end for testing solutions (it's mostly just copying files around at this stage, not building anything). Also the install step should be runnable from QtCreator as I mentioned before. Perhaps the syntax was wrong... on my Windows setup it's "make release install" to build and install at once, instead of "make all install" like in my Linux screenshot from earlier. It would be good to "fix" that if possible so it works as intended. One can also create a new build type in Creator for only installing, so just "make install" w/out running qmake first.

The advantage of doing everything via Creator is that it ensures the operating environment is set up correctly for the Qt version being used. If there are multiple Qt versions installed (including any the OS itself installed, eg. KDE relies heavily on Qt), building directly from a command line can lead to confusion.

As for quatosTool, same deal... no idea why it doesn't work on your system. Could be a bitness thing or who knows what. You could try building it yourself since you already have all the tools installed. All the latest sources are here: https://github.com/AutoQuad/utilities

Cheers,
-Max

Noted! Wanted to start a new build anyhow (as I pointed out in the tutorial: keep an image of your uSD to start-over!) and will make sure to run make first.
Will also tyr to build the QuatosTool on the RPi and report back.

'chrpath' package seems not be be installed by default; I'm pretty sure was a new package. Will check with the starter-uSD :idea:

Max wrote:One other note (this is now way OT), after changing anything in the Qt project config files (.pri or .pro), be sure to run qmake again to generate the Makefiles. QtCreator -> Build -> Run qmake. QtCreator looks like it automatically processes any changes to the project files right after you save them, but this doesn't actually run qmake or regenerate the Makefiles. This is especially true if you're running "make" from outside Creator -- the Makefiles would never get updated.
-Max

Well, my understand was it runs make first and then the make and clean steps. At least that's how the steps are aligned under project settings... anyway, let's make another test!
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

PreviousNext

Return to AQ Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests