AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 3 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Ground Stations and utilities for Windows, Linux, Android, & others

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby afernan » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:05 pm

Building for Windows 10
I´ve built this version for windows 10, but was not so easy (for me, of course). Basic instructions comes from README.md of the GIT repo of Max (AutoQuad/qgroundcontrol_aq), but I needed some changes.
Anyway, I want to share my findings for anyone who wants to try. Please, see attached pdf file with a step by step.

Summary:
- used Qt 5.5.1 Designer
- "Visual Studio 2013 Desk" compiler (instead 2010, very difficult to find now)
- Qt Speech, Speech SDK 5.1, Windows Driver Kit v7.1.0

I can share all necessary files thru "Google Drive" if someone has difficults to find installers

Also, in the PDF par.6.2 are described some small updates to be added to "readme.md" file on GIT.

Angel
Attachments
qgroundcontrol_aq COMPILE tips.zip
(1.34 MiB) Downloaded 523 times
afernan
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:24 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby Max » Fri Apr 08, 2016 8:44 pm

Hi Angel,

So the ATL library from WDK7.1 works with MSVC2013? That's good news. For some reason I was under the impression that it didn't. Actually now that I look back, I think I only tried with VC2012.

Thanks for the other tips, good to know how to silence that error. That's coming from a file in the QGC code (or QtSpeech?), or from the MSVC-provided headers? I realize it's hard to tell sometimes. Looks a bit related to the SDK "fixes" for QtSpeech.

Cheers,
-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby afernan » Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:45 pm

Hi Max:
happy to see it can help you a bit. The error shown is (many lines of error like this):
Code: Select all
Error 2 error C2440: 'default argument' : cannot convert from 'const wchar_t [1]' to 'const BSTR'

The same code compile without any problem using VS2010 . The errors are from the windows_kit 8.1. I saw this comment in the web, where its shown the solution by adding the following line in the “qgroundcontrol_aq.pro file”.
Code: Select all
win32: QMAKE_CXXFLAGS_RELEASE -= -Zc:strictStrings
afernan
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:24 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Sat Apr 09, 2016 8:11 am

afernan wrote:Building for Windows 10
I´ve built this version for windows 10, but was not so easy (for me, of course). Basic instructions comes from README.md of the GIT repo of Max (AutoQuad/qgroundcontrol_aq), but I needed some changes.
Anyway, I want to share my findings for anyone who wants to try. Please, see attached pdf file with a step by step.

Summary:
- used Qt 5.5.1 Designer
- "Visual Studio 2013 Desk" compiler (instead 2010, very difficult to find now)
- Qt Speech, Speech SDK 5.1, Windows Driver Kit v7.1.0

I can share all necessary files thru "Google Drive" if someone has difficults to find installers

Also, in the PDF par.6.2 are described some small updates to be added to "readme.md" file on GIT.

Angel


Hi Angel,
on which platform (HW) did you build it?
Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby afernan » Sat Apr 09, 2016 6:51 pm

@Joerg, I´m building in "Windows-10 64 bits".

btw, I´m started with my new RP3, but I´m really a newbie on that, so a good tester for your Tutorial to install QGC

Angel
afernan
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 5:24 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win and OS X

Postby Max » Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:29 am

Original post updated with Beta 3 release notes, downloads, and link to the new features announcement (in case anyone missed it ;) ).

Astudillo wrote:Only thing i could find on the mac is that the images of the pwm ports are not showing correctly.

I changed a setting on those images and would be curious if this is fixed in the new version.

Cheers,
-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 1 release for Win and OS X

Postby Astudillo » Sat Apr 16, 2016 6:58 am

Max wrote:Original post updated with Beta 3 release notes, downloads, and link to the new features announcement (in case anyone missed it ;) ).

Astudillo wrote:Only thing i could find on the mac is that the images of the pwm ports are not showing correctly.

I changed a setting on those images and would be curious if this is fixed in the new version.

Cheers,
-Max


Hi Max,

Great work on the QGC! And i'm happy to report that the image size problem is solved!
screenshot.png
screenshot.png (192.26 KiB) Viewed 4945 times


Thanks again Max!

Cheers,
Ray
Astudillo
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:23 am
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 3 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Wed Apr 27, 2016 12:41 pm

Hi Max,

was trying to make the HUD transparent but with no luck; it still uses default colour scheme. Any idea how to draw this window with a transparent background?

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 3 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby Max » Wed Apr 27, 2016 1:09 pm

There are a number of techniques for getting transparent windows/widgets in Qt. It really depends on what exactly you want to do, and how the widget draws itself (I seem to remember the HUD draws its own background, but I really don't recall for sure). Searching for "Qt transparent widget" may yield some useful ideas. Keep in mind it will behave differently when docked into the main window vs. free-floating.

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: AQ QGC 1.7 Beta 3 release for Win, OS X, & Linux

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Wed Apr 27, 2016 1:49 pm

Max wrote:There are a number of techniques for getting transparent windows/widgets in Qt. It really depends on what exactly you want to do, and how the widget draws itself (I seem to remember the HUD draws its own background, but I really don't recall for sure). Searching for "Qt transparent widget" may yield some useful ideas. Keep in mind it will behave differently when docked into the main window vs. free-floating.

-Max


Tried different approaches alreday to let it draw a transparent background but all of them failed; background always reverted to original one.

I simply want to use an undocked HUD-window for placing it over the video window. Compiled with vlc support but video source selection is not available. Possible root cause for this is how vlc got compiled from sources. In the end I simply have one/two video windows which can only show the HUD, but nothing more.

So to me it looks simpler to make the HUD background transparent, rather than digging into the guts of vlc and how it interacts with QGC.

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

PreviousNext

Return to AQ Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron