Android app

Ground Stations and utilities for Windows, Linux, Android, & others

Re: Android app

Postby chschmid » Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:33 am

Thanks for pointing me to the document.

Did you never go thru the wiki?

Does the following text apply?: "When I command my AQ to navigate to a waypoint, it overshoots/undershoots the target position. Increase your navigation speed I slightly."

Yes, that's why it is in the wiki.

There isn't any reference to my particular issue of the AQ yawing infinitely.

I tried my best to explain the reason and remedy. Maybe someone else finds better words.

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Android app

Postby kinderkram » Tue Oct 20, 2015 12:05 pm

Patnet wrote:There isn't any reference to my particular issue of the AQ yawing infinitely

Here´s the info regarding target radius and heading:
http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/configuri ... us-flights
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Android app

Postby Patnet » Wed Oct 21, 2015 2:16 am

chschmid wrote:
Thanks for pointing me to the document.

Did you never go thru the wiki?


Yes, but there's no bug list there. The Android app has bugs such as a bogus home position and bizarre tracks shown on the map going from WPs to equatorial Africa. Also the GPS3D and GPS2D mean nothing as does the voice announcing and Follow me.

I've mentioned this before and agree with everyone that Peter has done a good job. But the wiki just has the rose-tinted stuff in it when it comes to the app. It needs to list all the bugs too. Or the list needs to be somewhere otherwise everyone is just repeating each others bug discovery.
Patnet
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:24 pm

Re: Android app

Postby Patnet » Wed Oct 21, 2015 2:36 am

LPR wrote:Pat

Your hACC is high. If you have an open sky, a good GPS antenna with the right size ground plane you should be getting a hACC that is under .500.

You need to have the speed to the next WP set.

If you use a -0 for the heading, your multicopter will fly with it's front pointing toward the next WP.

You can use -50 degrees and your copter will fly with it's front turned 50 degrees off the heading to the next WP.

Keep playing with missions. I've used mission for years and I'm still learning.

Larry


Thanks Larry, will work on it. Christof made a suggestion which was to change PIDs too. I'm getting hACC 0.35 to 0.39 in open space.
Patnet
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:24 pm

Re: Android app

Postby LPR » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:47 am

Pat

Default PIDs work quite well. If you fly at over 8 m/s you will likely see a little overshoot. Changing the PIDs can help that some.

Larry
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: Android app

Postby Patnet » Wed Oct 21, 2015 4:44 pm

LPR wrote:Pat

Default PIDs work quite well. If you fly at over 8 m/s you will likely see a little overshoot. Changing the PIDs can help that some.

Larry


Thanks. So I don't understand how to correct the overshoot. My speeds have been 2 m/s and 4 m/s and my hACC below 0.5 meters. I'm within the parameters yet I'm experiencing intermittent overshooting.
Patnet
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:24 pm

Re: Android app

Postby LPR » Wed Oct 21, 2015 8:22 pm

Pat

If you're getting overshoot with 4 m/s then your basic setup needs tuning.

Are you using Quatos or PID firmware?

Larry
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: Android app

Postby Patnet » Wed Oct 21, 2015 9:01 pm

PID. How do I view the logfile?

http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/configuri ... -analyses/

Wiki says:

Start the Qgroundcontrol station, open the AutoQuad widget (default in the engineer tab) and click on ‘open logfile’

I don't have an engineer tab. But how do I browse to the logfile on the AQ SD card without removing the card?

"The log is written every 10 seconds so don’t worry about taking the uSD card out of the AutoQuad." Does that mean I don't have to remove the card to see the log?

EDIT: In any case I have now opened the SD card and it is empty. There is no log written. Please advise how to get a log written. Thanks.
Patnet
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:24 pm

Re: Android app

Postby LPR » Thu Oct 22, 2015 2:40 am

Pat

If you have a M4 board you can connect the USB cable and the SD card will show up as a memory card. With an AQ 6 board you must take out the SD card and read it in your computer.

If your SD card is working the green LED on the board will blink much faster than it does without the SD card in place. The SD card will not log when the M4 is connected to the USB cable.

You must have a SD card that works with an AQ board. The card has to be at least a class 10.

A few of the QGC instruction are quite old. You now must go to the data page and click on the top right corner "AutoQuad Log Viewer" and then go to the lower right corner and click on the "Select Log file".
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: Android app

Postby Patnet » Thu Oct 22, 2015 10:42 pm

Thanks Larry, so I bought a Class 10 and it still doesn't log. I've asked Joerg, who's extension board I'm using, what to do.

Meanwhile, you say the basic tuning isn't right. What changes do you suggest? The AQ flies very stable and I've made PID adjustments from default to get to that.
Patnet
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 10:24 pm

PreviousNext

Return to AQ Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests