Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Ground Stations and utilities for Windows, Linux, Android, & others

Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby mr_westie » Sun Nov 18, 2012 7:57 am

The wiki does cover it briefly but left me to work out a few missing pieces.
This is on Windows XP
Firmware v6.6 r33
GCS v1.0.4


Do NOT attempt missions until your POS/Alt hold, RTH all work.
Otherwise a crash is a high possibility from insufficient tuning.


Missions can be created while not connected to your FC.
The GCS needs to be connected to something.
Fortunately there is a Dummy UAV you can connect to.
aq2-connect to sim uav.jpg



There are a lot of windows you may not need during mission planning.
You can close them by clicking on the "X" to the right of each windows title bar.
They can be enabled again using "Tool Widgets" menu.

On a smaller screen all the elements may not be displayed properly.
The Bottom row of buttons may be missing.
Save, Load, Transmit etc
The workaround is to make the Mission Plan window floating.
To do this drag the title bar of the window from it's default position
aq3 - detachedission plan.jpg



Waypoints are placed by double clicking on the map.
Waypoints can be repositioned once placed.
aq4 - waypoints created.jpg



A fully autonomous mission includes Auto Take off and Landing.
Altitude is set to Absolute by default.
I prefer to use Relative to keep edits to a minimum.
Increase the default hit distance otherwise it may appear to be stuck at a waypoint.
Set the speed to each waypoint accordingly.
Set Landing altitude to -2.
Set decent rate to something low, 0.5m/s works for me.
During landing , bump detection is enabled. 1.5g?
Motors will disarm once the landing bump is detected.
aq5 - wp updated.jpg



Another useful tip, while out in the field switch to the high contrast colour scheme.
File > Settings
aq7-day view.JPG
aq7-day view.JPG (85.84 KiB) Viewed 4904 times



Some more reading

Auto take off procedure here. http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/flying/mission-flight/
Abs vs Rel Altitude. viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1097#p4888
mr_westie
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:23 am

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby plexus » Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:24 am

Very good job, many thanks. :idea: :!: :!: :!:

To put in the WIKI .
plexus
 
Posts: 538
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: South of France

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby skew » Sun Nov 18, 2012 5:24 pm

Thanks for your post Ive been trying for a week to get a successful mission. Using a waypoint for landing worked, I have not tried it until this point. But using return to launch does not work for me.

Here is using return to take off
rtl.jpg


Video


Same flight just changed return to take to waypoint worked perfect.
waypoint.jpg


Video


It looks like the return to landing does not have enough radius programed in but there is nowhere to set it.
skew
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:30 am
Location: Morehead, Ky

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby kinderkram » Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:15 pm

Good job, Gents! 8-)
Thx for trial&error and the descriptions of the steps you've taken.

As we don't explain the basics of QGroundControl but only linked to their docu some useful functions might get lost.

We should add some more info for the settings and the handling of QGC and extend the waypoint section.

Please post successful missions and possible workarounds here!

Thx in advance,
Norbert
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby sandmen » Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:01 am

@skew,
at the moment, with your fw version, and with your qgroundcontrol version, is only the second mission possible.

Working on this topic.
sandmen
 
Posts: 997
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:25 am

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby skew » Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:23 am

thats good to know its not my quad I have been pulling my hair out for a week trying every pid adjustment with no success. I guess I will wait on new updates thanks.
skew
 
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 1:30 am
Location: Morehead, Ky

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby axelnied » Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:41 pm

mr_westie,

Excellent write-up with example picture, thanks!

I am somewhat confused by the sample mission you attached a screenshot of...:
Take-off to 5 meters, WHY do consecutive waypoints have a relative altitude of 0 meters.

"relative" altitude will be in reference to the start position (location where I am plugging the battery in), or "relative" to the previous waypoint? "absolute" will the geographic altitude?
axelnied
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby mr_westie » Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:50 pm

Explained by this post :)

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1097#p4888
mr_westie
 
Posts: 149
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:23 am

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby axelnied » Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:51 pm

Ooops... Never mind...!

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1097#p4888

afernan wrote:[...]
Absolute Heigth is really absolute w.r.t. sea level. In my case (Madrid, Spain) I have 630m in the place I flight. So every WP with "abs" marked will fly to the value especified. This works very well.

Relative Heigth. This is relative to last WP. This is very usefull.
Let see a tipical example: Lift-off to 20m, several WP´s at 20m, landing.
We need to put following relative altitudes:
1.- Take-off "T.Alt" = 20 (see image attached)
2.- all WP´s altitude = 0 m (abs box NOT marked)
3.- Landing 0 m
This works perfect.

[...]
axelnied
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Re: Step by Step mission planning via PC QGC

Postby axelnied » Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:03 am

mr_westie wrote:Explained by this post :)

viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1097#p4888


Thanks mr_westie... Forgot to do a THOROUGH search!!!
Another question regarding the "desired yaw angle at waypoint"... How does this pan out practically?

Let's say I have two waypoints A and B. And I want my AQ to "look at" B while coming in from A... Do I enter the necessary yaw angle into waypoint A or into waypoint B?
axelnied
 
Posts: 261
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Next

Return to AQ Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest