SOLVED / How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

News, Setup, Compiling, Flashing, Development

SOLVED / How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby s_sergiu » Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:38 pm

Hi,

I commented out #define USE_MAVLINK and uncomment #define HAS_AQ_TELEMETRY
but nothing go out in serial port.
Any suggestions ?

Sergiu
Last edited by s_sergiu on Fri Jan 13, 2017 1:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
s_sergiu
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby s_sergiu » Wed Jan 11, 2017 2:55 pm

Nobody ?
Last edited by s_sergiu on Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
s_sergiu
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: How to use AQ Telemetry ?

Postby bluuu » Wed Jan 11, 2017 3:32 pm

uncomment #define USE_MAVLINK

then set protocol in GCS (in serial ports settings)
bluuu
 
Posts: 1339
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:02 pm
Location: Poland, Silesia

Re: How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby s_sergiu » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:00 pm

Hi,
Thank you for reply.

I commented out #define USE_MAVLINK. In GCS under serial settings I have only MAVLINK protocol.
Nothing related to telemetry - "AQ native binary telemetry and command interface". Do I miss something?

What I am looking for is to not use MAVLINK protocol.
s_sergiu
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby JussiH » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:30 pm

The native AQ telemetry format is not supported in our version of QGC.

It was something that Bill built for his own needs, and AFAIK we never implemented it into any version of groundstation.

Bottom line...If you want to use the native telem, you will have to write an interface for it yourself.
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby s_sergiu » Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:34 am

In older versions of AQ software, by uncomment the "#define USE_MAVLINK" , AQ_Telemetry was selected and send to serial port.
However in MAX's latest versions is not working anymore.
What I need is to have again the string starting with AqT followed by AQ_ROLL,AQ_PITCH,.....so I can simply read it with another microcontroller.

Do I have to send first a request to AQ ? What should I transmit to get in return all the parameters from
telemetryDo() in telemetry.c ?
s_sergiu
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby JussiH » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:09 am

Ok....Max?

I havent used native telem since before AQ6 (in 2011 or 12), and I really cant remember how it worked, besides it was a Linux command line interface....
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby Max » Thu Jan 12, 2017 8:18 pm

Did you un-comment or otherwise define HAS_AQ_TELEMETRY ?

https://github.com/mpaperno/aq_flight_c ... c/aq.h#L31

The custom AQ telemetry is now left out by default since there are no public tools for it.
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby s_sergiu » Fri Jan 13, 2017 10:16 am

Hi Max,

I un-comment as below:

#define USE_MAVLINK
#define USE_PRES_ALT // uncomment to use pressure altitude instead of GPS
#define USE_SIGNALING // uncomment to use external signaling events and ports
//#define HAS_QUATOS // build including Quatos library
#define HAS_AQ_TELEMETRY // uncomment to include AQ native binary telemetry and command interface
#define DIMU_VERSION 11 // uncomment to build for AQ6 hardware with DIMU add-on

In older firmware by commenting out #define USE_MAVLINK and un-commenting #define HAS_AQ_TELEMETRY , I had all AQ_Telemetry parameters sent out to serial port right after the initialization finished.
However in latest versions, I seen that by commenting out #define USE_MAVLINK there is no serial communication at all.
So I only commented out in aq_mavlink.c as below

// register notice function with comm module
commRegisterNoticeFunc(mavlinkSendNotice);
// commRegisterTelemFunc(mavlinkDo);
// commRegisterRcvrFunc(COMM_STREAM_TYPE_MAVLINK, mavlinkRecvTaskCode);

AQ_NOTICE("Mavlink init\n");

This way Mavlink information is not send to serial port anymore but suppose to be only telemetry in telemetry.c :
void telemetryInit(void) {
memset((void *)&telemetryData, 0, sizeof(telemetryData));

commRegisterTelemFunc(telemetryDo); // Instead of Mavlink
commRegisterNoticeFunc(telemetrySendNotice);
}

However from telemetryDo() nothing goes out and don't know why.

Ideally I want to completely disable Mavlink and use only AQ_TELEMETRY
s_sergiu
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: How to use Native AQ Telemetry ?

Postby Max » Fri Jan 13, 2017 11:55 am

Could you define "older" and "latest" versions a bit more specifically for me? We have version numbers for a good reason. ;-)

In AQ settings did you enable the correct protocol type ("AQ Serial") for the serial port you're using?

AQ only streams the configured protocol type(s), so e.g. if no ports are using Mavlink then it will be effectively disabled.

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Next

Return to AQ Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

cron