Cannot flash firmware (Using Parser: Intel HEX,Error device)

News, Setup, Compiling, Flashing, Development

Cannot flash firmware (Using Parser: Intel HEX,Error device)

Postby Grigoriy » Thu Dec 01, 2016 11:33 pm

Good evening everyone!

Recently viewtopic.php?f=33&t=4900
I found how to solve an issue with reading/writing parameters, but now I found that I cannot update firmware..

Now I use a serial <-> USB connector with 4 pins on a serial side. I'm not sure how it's called, but QGG recognizes it as "Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port" (see Figure in the end).

I connect the serial the same way I did for reading/writing parameters (I connect RX, TX and GND) from a picture here: http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/autoquad- ... nnections/
I tried to connect with a +5V pin. Plus I tried to use Silicone Labs (CP210x) serial connector.

Also on this issue I found other pages:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=3780
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=1636&p=6468&hilit=unusual+way#p6468
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=15&hilit=unusual+way&start=80
but they didn't help me to solve the issue..

So, currently I have a board with a DIMU soldered (it was already bouth like this and I think it is a comparatively new version of a board). When I connect to QGG it says that the version is 7.1 Experimental (it's written: "AutoQuad FW: v. 7.1.-EXPR r449 b1852 HW: v. 6r1")

I try to follow instructions for flashing on this page: http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/autoquad- ... 2-hardware
I didn't forget to remove jumper from J3 and place it to J4. When the AQ6 starts, it has only red LED blinking.

After trying to flash the firmware I see an error like this:
Imagehow to take screenshots

Thank you for your time and have a good day!
Grigoriy
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:32 am

Re: Cannot flash firmware (Using Parser: Intel HEX,Error dev

Postby LPR » Fri Dec 02, 2016 1:46 am

I found that if I first connect the board to telemetry and then try to update the firmware that sometimes I get the error that you're getting.

The solution is to first close the QGC and then unplug the USB connection to your computer.

Now start the QGC and connect the USB cable with the jumper in place to do firmware loading.

Hope that helps.
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: Cannot flash firmware (Using Parser: Intel HEX,Error dev

Postby Grigoriy » Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:44 pm

Thank you for your comment!

I restarted PC, started AQ6 in a boot mode (with a jumper in J4, and it started with only red LED on), connected a serial port as on a picture (but on the picture Jumper is in position J3):
Image

I still have the same error..
Maybe somebody else on this forum had such issue..
Grigoriy
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:32 am

Re: Cannot flash firmware (Using Parser: Intel HEX,Error dev

Postby JussiH » Fri Dec 02, 2016 7:24 pm

Jumper is in the wrong position. Move it over to the left position.
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: Cannot flash firmware (Using Parser: Intel HEX,Error dev

Postby Grigoriy » Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:56 pm

Thank you!
Today I had a chance to retake the picture to show how I made all connections! (previous picture had an older picture with comments).
Imagefree picture hosting

I tried in these settings and had a resulting message from the first picture in this dialog..
Thanks for any suggestions!
Grigoriy
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:32 am

Re: Cannot flash firmware (Using Parser: Intel HEX,Error dev

Postby JussiH » Mon Dec 05, 2016 8:35 pm

If you are sure that RX and TX is not swapped, then you probably need to check your drivers, or try a genuine FDTI cable.

I am not sure if UART2 (The JST-SH connector on the DIMU) supports bootloader, but you can try. You still need to short the boot jumper.

Pinout:
N4_uart.jpg
N4_uart.jpg (26.87 KiB) Viewed 2564 times


Last resort is to get a ST-LINK and flash via SWD.
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: Cannot flash firmware (Using Parser: Intel HEX,Error dev

Postby Grigoriy » Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:07 pm

Thanks a lot for your detailed comments!

Initially, I used Flyduino USB UART-CP2012, but it didn't work well. When I found the same one Flyduino USB UART-CP2012, it started working perfectly.
It looks that I just had a broken Flyduino USB UART-CP2012, and my second type of USB <-> UART stick (with separate pins connectors) was too simple: maybe it didn't convert voltage or something like that.. With that second type of the sticker I could read/write parameters and change mixing table, but I could not flash the firmware.

So, now I can both: read/write parameters and flash the firmware using a new stick Flyduino USB UART-CP2012.

Thanks a lot to everyone!
Grigoriy
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2016 1:32 am


Return to AQ Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron