Try to compile aq with crossworks -> failed

News, Setup, Compiling, Flashing, Development

Re: Try to compile aq with crossworks -> failed

Postby SW_SST » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:00 pm

I'm getting the same error with CW 2.3 and 3.0.
I worked on this for many hours and got nowhere,
It seems the documentation is lacking some crucial steps.
If someone could provide some information about how to proceed, that would be great.
SW_SST
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 2:39 pm

Re: Try to compile aq with crossworks -> failed

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Fri Oct 31, 2014 2:07 pm

SW_SST wrote:I'm getting the same error with CW 2.3 and 3.0.
I worked on this for many hours and got nowhere,
It seems the documentation is lacking some crucial steps.
If someone could provide some information about how to proceed, that would be great.


CW2.3.x should be fine! Never had any issues with this revision. I'm using 2.3.5 (http://www.rowley.co.uk/arm/releases.htm)
Do you have the required STM32 packages installed from Crossworks package manager? Be shure to have a copy of the STM32 library files available in your Croswworks Directory too before you start to download the Support packages.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Try to compile aq with crossworks -> failed

Postby MaPa » Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:01 pm

I'm getting a further. I found out that the problem the following files are:

stm32f4xx.h and system_stm32f4xx.h

in crossworks V3.x there are newer versions of that files.

I copied this files from "STM32F4xx_DSP_StdPeriph_Lib_V1.3.0/Libraries/CMSIS/Device/ST/STM32F4xx/Include/" to the
C:\Users\....\AppData\Local\Rowley Associates Limited\CrossWorks for ARM\v3\packages\targets\STM32\include

after that, everything is fine...

build complete.png
MaPa
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:03 am

Re: Try to compile aq with crossworks -> failed

Postby MaPa » Fri Oct 31, 2014 3:59 pm

works also fine at Mac Version of CrossWorks

For Mac copy the files from
"STM32F4xx_DSP_StdPeriph_Lib_V1.3.0/Libraries/CMSIS/Device/ST/STM32F4xx/Include/"
to the
/Users/...../Library/Rowley\ Associates\ Limited/CrossWorks\ for\ ARM/v3/packages/targets/STM32/include/
MaPa
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:03 am

Re: Try to compile aq with crossworks -> failed

Postby MaPa » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:02 pm

another check :-)

it is also possible to copy this files to the autoquad/onboard directory and add this to the "System Files" folder as "Existing Files"

Have fun...
MaPa
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:03 am

Re: Try to compile aq with crossworks -> failed

Postby kinderkram » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:11 pm

Glad you found out! 8-)
Will also be helpful for other to follow, thx!
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Try to compile aq with crossworks -> failed

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:40 pm

Thumbs up! Excellent find!
Will try on Windows and Mac to the file size of V3.3 compared to V2.3.4.

EDIT: CONFIRMED! That does the trick for Crossworks V3.x.
Here's a comparison of the resulting memory footprint when comparing V2.3.4 with v3.3. Simply downloaded the sources, opened the project and build it. No other changes made!
Compare the Flash footprint. Since there is plenty of Flash left it doesn't make that big difference. Far more interesting would it be to see a profiling and execution speed comparison.
Attachments
V3.3 results.jpg
V3.3 file size
V2.3.4. results.jpg
V2.3.4 file size
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Previous

Return to AQ Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron