Compiled firmare repository - latest and historical builds

News, Setup, Compiling, Flashing, Development

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby Cookiemonsta » Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:11 pm

Hi guys ;)

I just tested r220 and all worked perfectly. I tested the signalling, headfree, RTH and missions (waypoints & orbit).
After looking at the logs I realized that one motor had no throttle in the mixer so that the mot_yaw was on +150 all the time XD
But it flew pretty well / stable and had only minor problems achieving the correct heading. I guess the throttle got lost in the transmission of the mixer data with QGC B3 ;)

Thank you guys ;)

Greatings,
Tobi
Cookiemonsta
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 3:31 pm

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby Ecky » Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:53 pm

moved :oops:
Last edited by Ecky on Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Ecky
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:11 am
Location: Germany, Bonn

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby Ecky » Fri Aug 30, 2013 3:58 pm

..... sorry, that was the wrong blog!
Perhaps someone move the above to viewtopic.php?f=33&t=1646&p=15409#p15409 :roll:

Greatings
Christian
Last edited by Ecky on Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ecky
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:11 am
Location: Germany, Bonn

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby kinderkram » Fri Aug 30, 2013 6:01 pm

Ecky wrote:
I know this thinking is very restrictive and fare away from the actual implementation but I couldn’t
see the need of setting the home position away from the takeoff point and changing it during a flight session.
The possibility to do that takes more risks as benefit.

Greatings
Christian

I always set the HP in flight, it's the first thing I do after testing PH - and I love being able to do so!
First reason is for having the HP in the air (2-3m above ground, 4-5m in front of me), not on the ground. I don't want her to act as a lawn mower in a real emergency situation when I have no more radio control and she comes back autonomously. :o

Second reason is contrary to your opinion to only have a panic button: it's ideal for "single WP moves" - set HP, fly her away and engage RTH.


btw: Christian, copy the content to the appropriate forum and delete the post here afterwards.
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby Ecky » Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:51 pm

Norbert,

you describe exactly what i tried to explaine:
kinderkram wrote:I always set the HP in flight, it's the first thing I do after testing PH - and I love being able to do so!
First reason is for having the HP in the air (2-3m above ground, 4-5m in front of me), not on the ground. I don't want her to act as a lawn mower in a real emergency situation when I have no more radio control and she comes back autonomously. :o


I meant to do that what you are doing manually in an automated procedure:
Place the Copter in a safe place, going 4-5m backwards, waiting stable GPS lock until GPS LED is blue, then starts the automated procedure with storing the GPS_LAT/ GPS_LONG as the plane coordinates and GPS_HEIGTH + X (example X=2-3m - lawn mower changing to sky mover :mrgreen: ) for the altitude home position. The success of this procedure could be indicated via flashing the blue GPS led. Nothing else.

Perhpas it is possible to store this home Position as "failsafe_home" witch engaged during failsafe, or did you explane
the Bezirksregierung Düsseldorf that your home Position used in failsafe mode could be placed everywhere, also in not secure places?

Greatings
Christian
Ecky
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:11 am
Location: Germany, Bonn

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby kinderkram » Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:14 pm

If they come asking I'll them it's part of the flight preparations to set the HP in a safe place. :P

But ... everyone to his own taste. If I accidentaly overwrite the HP I know in the same second - and it only happened once.
Instead of a regurlar 3way switch on my Aurora I use for set home & rth a swing thing (urm?) on the right side:
Image

The swing on the left side is for the gimbal tilt. I use the middle and the index finger so I can leave the thumb on the throttle stick. But ... I'm getting OT. :D
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby Max » Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:03 am

I think being able to set a home position in flight is important/useful/necessary. It's up to the pilot to determine safest location for home. You can set it on the ground if you really want to (I wouldn't!). Keep in mind that home is also set the first time you enter PH (if it hasn't been set already). Including if you're on the ground (after arming and with GPS lock, of course). So, if someone really doesn't want to be able to change home position so easily, some possibilities:

a) Don't use a Set Home switch at all... just use a 2-way switch/lever that goes between neutral and low (RTH) positions.

b) Place Set Home on a different switch from RTH. Perhaps one that is more difficult to reach/less likely to get activated by mistake.

c) Use a a locking/safety switch for Set Home action.

Granted, the first two require your radio mix to be configurable. But that's the only way to fly anyway :D

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby chschmid » Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:34 pm

Gents

I read many nice Inputs. But it is getting complicated. I tried to summarize everything a little and borrowed the nice graphics.

Maybe new ideas can be added to the list. Then we can decide how to go on.
The positions in red are not defined yet or I am not sure if it is correct.

Cheers
Christof

AQ functions.pdf
(105.3 KiB) Downloaded 177 times
Attachments
AQ functions.xlsx
(27.14 KiB) Downloaded 131 times
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby kinderkram » Sat Aug 31, 2013 8:24 pm

Thx for the for clearin the air, Christof! :D

Now looking at the picture it makes perfect sense to use AUX2 mid position for cancelling RTH so you can keep the finger on that switch. Then we can keep the previous procedure to set a hp.

As for the other red flags:
- continue wp=up
- restart mission=down(manual), then up
I agree with your other proposals regarding HF if possible.

Maybe I misunderstood the "Throttle, Nick Roll" columnes but shouldn't "continue RTH" be the same as RTH?
And "continue/restart mission" the same as engage mission? What about D/HF? :?
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: Firmware builds at Google code site

Postby chschmid » Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:13 pm

kinderkram wrote:Thx for the for clearin the air, Christof! :D

Now looking at the picture it makes perfect sense to use AUX2 mid position for cancelling RTH so you can keep the finger on that switch. Then we can keep the previous procedure to set a hp.

As for the other red flags:
- continue wp=up
- restart mission=down(manual), then up
I agree with your other proposals regarding HF if possible.

Maybe I misunderstood the "Throttle, Nick Roll" columnes but shouldn't "continue RTH" be the same as RTH?
And "continue/restart mission" the same as engage mission? What about D/HF? :?


Never mind Norbert

When making the table I wanted to describe "Actions". As Max mentioned, a nick/roll in RTH would cancel the RTH and engage PH. I changed the table now to "stick Input possible". Maybe thats more clear.
The functionality is just a MH proposition where it differs from the actual behaviour. Please add/remove maybe with different colors.

Cheers
Christof

AQ Functions.JPG
AQ Functions.JPG (103.89 KiB) Viewed 4455 times
Attachments
AQ functions.xlsx
(27.52 KiB) Downloaded 121 times
AQ functions.pdf
(103.69 KiB) Downloaded 141 times
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

PreviousNext

Return to AQ Firmware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron