Strange Motor Behaviour...PID?

Info and discussion about the original AQ v6 flight controller

Re: Strange Motor Behaviour...PID?

Postby stud » Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:41 pm

Gentleman,

Sorry for the delay and thank you for your previous suggestions; you were right, all of you :D
So i guess the main problem was interference. I have shielded an rewired the PWM cables and now these horrible run ups do not happen anymore. What I've learned:
:idea: always twist/shield your PWM lines and make sure they are as short as possible and as far away as possible from the motor controllers and the three phase wires from controller to motor

I've also done the recalibration of the motor/prop combination (3510 & T-motor Carbon 13x4.4). See the results for 15A and 22A attached.

I made a successful and stable hover already 8-) ! I'll build up some confidence and set the PIDs. Does anyone happen to have a PID configuration for the X8 or of a similar configuration that i can use as a reference/starting point?

Thank you again and happy landings :mrgreen:

Dominic
Attachments
esc32_22a.txt
My current ESC32 configuration
(893 Bytes) Downloaded 263 times
22a.PNG
22A ESC32 Calibration with 3510 13x4.4
22a.PNG (31.29 KiB) Viewed 4101 times
15a.PNG
15A ESC32 Calibration with 3510 13x4.4
15a.PNG (31.76 KiB) Viewed 4101 times
stud
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 2:41 pm

Re: Strange Motor Behaviour...PID?

Postby chschmid » Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:05 pm

Hi Dominic

Good to hear that it works.

always twist/shield your PWM lines and make sure they are as short as possible and as far away as possible from the motor controllers and the three phase wires from controller to motor


You could use the CAN bus. CAN is less sensitive to these kind of trouble.

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Strange Motor Behaviour...PID?

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Wed Feb 04, 2015 8:39 pm

stud wrote:Gentleman,

Sorry for the delay and thank you for your previous suggestions; you were right, all of you :D
So i guess the main problem was interference. I have shielded an rewired the PWM cables and now these horrible run ups do not happen anymore. What I've learned:
:idea: always twist/shield your PWM lines and make sure they are as short as possible and as far away as possible from the motor controllers and the three phase wires from controller to motor

I've also done the recalibration of the motor/prop combination (3510 & T-motor Carbon 13x4.4). See the results for 15A and 22A attached.

I made a successful and stable hover already 8-) ! I'll build up some confidence and set the PIDs. Does anyone happen to have a PID configuration for the X8 or of a similar configuration that i can use as a reference/starting point?

Thank you again and happy landings :mrgreen:

Dominic


Hi Dominic,
Good to hear you got them running and thanks for the data! The 13x4.4 are on my wishlist for quite a while :lol:

+1 for CAN! Also allows for some other cool stuff...
Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: Strange Motor Behaviour...PID?

Postby stud » Thu Feb 05, 2015 8:47 am

chschmid wrote:You could use the CAN bus. CAN is less sensitive to these kind of trouble.


The reason why I dont use CAN is as simple as it is stupid: "Was der Bauer nicht kennt, das frisst er nicht" :oops:
But its on my "nice to have"-to do list.

Dominic
stud
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 2:41 pm

Re: Strange Motor Behaviour...PID?

Postby r0sewhite » Sun Feb 22, 2015 1:24 pm

Though the problem seems to be solved: Which fw version did you use? I've got a perfect smoothly flying X8 until I once updated the ESCs from 1.4.3 to 2.1.x. Though I used my old parameters (which allowed me even to start the Motor with 15" props at max PWM value without commutation loss), the copter flew and sounded horrible. The ESCs controlled very rough and motors were audibly close to commutation loss. Also the motor start was very hard. The same values that previously smoothly started the motors, now kicked them like a hammer. Switching back to v1.4.x, all problems were gone.

Btw: Why do you use such small props on these motors? Is your Tamara too lightweight? ;)
r0sewhite
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 12:08 am

Previous

Return to AutoQuad 6 Flight Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron