AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Info and discussion about the original AQ v6 flight controller

AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby LordPikaChu » Wed Nov 19, 2014 9:56 pm

Hello everyone,

did my AQ just die? If so, why?

Last time I used the board was two weeks ago, it was working as expected. Today I powered it up and it seems to be dead (no LEDs, doesn't respond to radio commands, is not recognized by QGC), but it still gives power to my Rx and telemetry radio! The MCU is warm when power is connected.

The copter, on which the board is mounted, was sitting literally untouched for the past two weeks. What could be the cause of the board dying like that?

I would appreciate any insights.
LordPikaChu
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Poland, Lodz

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby kinderkram » Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:26 am

That doesn´t sound good. :?
Possibly a damaged MCU, possible causes could be humidity, electrical discharge, voltage spikes or a weak part on the board.

Maybe some of our hardware experts can help to find the part in question...
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby LordPikaChu » Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:36 am

Thanks for your reply. I don't think that the board has been subjected to any of these conditions.

Is it possible to buy an MCU and solder it to the board?
LordPikaChu
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Poland, Lodz

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby LordPikaChu » Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:44 am

Okay, it looks like it's possible. Which one of these should I get?

http://www.tme.eu/en/katalog/?idp=1&search=STM32F407&cleanParameters=1

And, more importantly, how can I check if this really is the MCU that is dead? I have a standard multimeter on my disposal.
LordPikaChu
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Poland, Lodz

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:20 am

LordPikaChu wrote:Okay, it looks like it's possible. Which one of these should I get?

http://www.tme.eu/en/katalog/?idp=1&search=STM32F407&cleanParameters=1

And, more importantly, how can I check if this really is the MCU that is dead? I have a standard multimeter on my disposal.


bevor attemptimg Top remove the MCU I would conduct more testing.

Remove the AQ6 from the craft and power it from a power supply. Try Top connect Top QGC for re-flashing the firmware.

Joerg
.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby LordPikaChu » Thu Nov 20, 2014 9:30 am

aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:
LordPikaChu wrote:Okay, it looks like it's possible. Which one of these should I get?

http://www.tme.eu/en/katalog/?idp=1&search=STM32F407&cleanParameters=1

And, more importantly, how can I check if this really is the MCU that is dead? I have a standard multimeter on my disposal.


bevor attemptimg Top remove the MCU I would conduct more testing.

Remove the AQ6 from the craft and power it from a power supply. Try Top connect Top QGC for re-flashing the firmware.

Joerg
.


Hi Joerg,

thanks for your advice, unfortunately I don't have a power supply. I can connect the AQ board to 12V BEC, though. Will this be sufficient?

Why would the board work when connected to power supply, but not work under LiPo battery?

Best wishes,
Mateusz
LordPikaChu
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Poland, Lodz

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby JussiH » Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:15 am

Mateusz,

You can send the board back and I will replace the MCU under warranty.

Thanks

Jussi
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby LordPikaChu » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:09 pm

JussiH wrote:Mateusz,

You can send the board back and I will replace the MCU under warranty.

Thanks

Jussi


Thanks Jussi, sent you a PM.

If anyone has some more suggestions on how to check the board - please let me know before I send it to Jussi.
LordPikaChu
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 12:42 pm
Location: Poland, Lodz

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby joebar.rc » Thu Nov 20, 2014 5:34 pm

There is a good change the 3.3V line is dead. Either the 3.3v LDO or the MCU. If you insist you could check the stm32f407 datasheet for the VDD line(s) and if that gets 3.3v. If not... well..
The dual output 3.3V LDO is sitting just above the capacitors and j3/j4
For the rest I dont have schematics so no further help possible.
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: AQ board suddenly dead. Help needed.

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Thu Nov 20, 2014 8:03 pm

Hi,
there are (many) ways to measure the 3.3V (+Vcc) rail:

1. Spektrum Sat connector (J7)
Pin1: +Vcc
Pin2: GND

2. Debug connector J6
Pin1: +Vcc
Pin3: GND

3. BOOT0 jumper
Pin1: +Vcc

4.. look at the 'AQ6 headers&connector docu' http://autoquad.org/wp-content/plugins/download-monitor/download.php?id=22 and search for 3.3V supply signals --> no schematic need in first place!

By the way: U3/U4 and U20 are 3.3V (+Vcc) LDOs:
U3/U20: LD2985BM33R
U4: MIC5210

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Next

Return to AutoQuad 6 Flight Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron