Using Autoquad from a boat

Info and discussion about the original AQ v6 flight controller

Using Autoquad from a boat

Postby SuperSharpShooter » Sun May 11, 2014 10:46 am

Is there anything stopping an AQ board from initialising correctly, if it is powered on, and operated from a rocking boat?

I've been using an arducopter to shoot from small boats lately, but it doesn't like to be moving when it is armed, or else its level gets all wacky. Would AQ have this issue too or would its calibration make it still fly straight even if it's moving when powered on and armed?
-Glenn
SuperSharpShooter
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:44 pm

Re: Using Autoquad from a boat

Postby Kisssys » Sun May 11, 2014 3:04 pm

I have seen this question posted in other forums so their is a need. It would seem a fully calibrated AQ with the disabling of zeroing of the rate gyro's on startup should work.

It would not work correctly now as it looks for a period of no movement to zero the rate gyro's. This was not done early on in the program and it flew fine if calibrated properly.

Cheers
Steve
Steve
Kisssys
Kisssys
 
Posts: 1340
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 9:23 pm

Re: Using Autoquad from a boat

Postby SuperSharpShooter » Sun May 11, 2014 7:37 pm

Ok cool, yeah I am super keen to have this as an option! Here are a couple of screengrabs from one of my flying spots yesterday... after about 10 tries to get arducopter to level correctly before taking off!

Image
Image
-Glenn
SuperSharpShooter
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:44 pm

Re: Using Autoquad from a boat

Postby chschmid » Sun May 11, 2014 9:13 pm

Wow Glen
What a scenery.

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: Using Autoquad from a boat

Postby bn999 » Sun May 11, 2014 10:29 pm

Comment out this line in nav_ukf.c to get what you are after:

Code: Select all
    // wait for lack of movement
    imuQuasiStatic(UKF_GYO_AVG_NUM);
bn999
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: Using Autoquad from a boat

Postby SuperSharpShooter » Mon May 12, 2014 2:52 am

Great, thanks for that Bill.
-Glenn
SuperSharpShooter
 
Posts: 276
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:44 pm

Re: Using Autoquad from a boat

Postby bn999 » Mon May 12, 2014 1:17 pm

Note - this will only work with the DIMU.
bn999
 
Posts: 1559
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 11:40 pm

Re: Using Autoquad from a boat

Postby Debian » Fri Oct 16, 2015 5:51 pm

Hi guys,
I have the same problem. I want to start from a boat because of you can do a lot of interesting things like taking pictures above the sea.
I commented out the function:

Code: Select all
imuQuasiStatic(...)


twice (as it appears two times in the code).
I tried to start the copter from the boat, but I couldn't. It suddenly starts turning about the yaw axis. After many tries, I realized that I should start the copter on the beach and, living power on without disconnecting the battery, going with the boat to the wanted place. If I do that, it works.
There is some other function which could be set to get rid of the yaw problem?
Regards
Debian
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 3:20 pm


Return to AutoQuad 6 Flight Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron