Suggestion - smooth start for ESCs

Info and discussion about the original AQ v6 flight controller

Suggestion - smooth start for ESCs

Postby hogster » Thu May 08, 2014 8:48 pm

Hi all :)

I've had limited experience of the DJI flight controllers, but one feature I do like which I feel is missing from the AQ is the smooth / very slow startup when arming the motors. I can't help thinking the rapid start-up was a contributing factor to the death of one of my ESCs dying, before I even managed to take-off :(

(password: hogstercortex)

It could have had nothing to do with that of course!

Many thanks for your thoughts! :) David
hogster

Re: Suggestion - smooth start for ESCs

Postby Max » Thu May 08, 2014 9:15 pm

With properly calibrated/set up ESCs, AQ motor startup is typically very smooth. No offense meant, but I think you're focusing on the wrong issue. Even if AQ commands full throttle right off the bat (which is definitely not the case in the video), the ESC shouldn't just burn up, and the actual motor starting should still be smooth. Either the ESCs aren't calibrated right, don't like those motors for some reason, or are just junk. IMHO :)

-Max
Max

Postby JussiH » Thu May 08, 2014 9:18 pm

"Rapid start" very likely had nothing to do with your ESC failure. Unless the start itself drew an overwattage, there is not much likelyhood of the start beeing the problem, unless it cocked on 1 phase and keep it open. That is not unseen but its pretty rare.

Soft start is also a ESC feature, not a FC feature - I do beleive its already in the BL-Heli wares, dunno about Afro and SimonK´s.

However, I think its a good idea to make soft start....but its not something I could do - so its up to Bill to find time for it....maybe for V3.

Soft start comes from helis and gear driven propellors, where its used to protect gears and pinions from stripping out when the motor start. So as a feature for a MR its pretty useless, but it has a high "cool" factor...
JussiH