New to the forums.. questions about AQ6 GPS+INS fusion

Info and discussion about the original AQ v6 flight controller

New to the forums.. questions about AQ6 GPS+INS fusion

Postby aharmon » Tue Apr 22, 2014 2:27 am

Hello,

I am new to the multi-rotor world, and interested in learning more about the GPS-INS sensor fusion employed by the AQ6 FC. I hope I'm not violating your forum policies by asking where to find information, but I had no luck using the search utilities on the website..

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Could someone please point me to any resources/ documentation where I can read about the sensor fusion that the AQ6 flight controller implements to integrate the UBLOX LEA-6T and DIMU?

_____________________________________________________________________________________________

Background:

While I am new to multi-rotors and the RC world, I eat nonlinear filters for breakfast, and I have several years of experience writing filters for GPS-INS state estimation.

I discovered AutoQuad while poking around online. I have been developing algorithms for multi-rotor control as a hobby, doing simulations and trade studies, getting ready to buy hardware. For me, the fun is in the sensor fusion algorithm development and the nonlinear control design. I don't want to just drop a control board on a frame and have something that flies; the fun part for me is going through the systems engineering activities of developing performance metrics and error budgets, and then writing estimators, algorithms, and controllers to meet the specified design criteria. E.g. I want to design a stochastic linear quadratic controller by modeling the moments and products of inertia of the airframe, characterizing the motor inertia, damping, and engine thrust, and placing the PVA eigenvalues where I want them.