new hardware revision autoquad?

Info and discussion about the original AQ v6 flight controller

new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby rwijnhov » Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:11 am

Hi,

I am looking to get back to autoquad. But i believe i read somwhere about new revision? So do I buy now or wait for the new revision?
rwijnhov
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2012 3:42 pm

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby joebar.rc » Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:52 am

Nah, the revision was one resistor to correct the voltage divider for the main power supply.
All AQ boards you can buy now have that new resistor do no reason to wait, in fact perfect timing because a lot of additions have been made and if the new android app passes all tests so many existing features are opened :)


Menno
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby Jdmagoo » Mon Sep 23, 2013 9:55 am

Also, I believe there's an add on board with a digital IMU that will be coming, basically connects to the J connectors on the current AQ board. Will let Jussi chime in with more details.
Jdmagoo
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2013 8:35 am

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby JussiH » Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:22 pm

I have been working on the DIMU addon this weekend, and sent it to Bill for verification last night.

If it checks out, it will go to production ASAP.

Besides beeing a DIMU, the expansion board also provides a CAN transceiver and breaks out Serial 2 to a JST-SH connector.
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby chschmid » Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:16 am

Morning Jussi

Are the DIMU's ready?
I will use CAN for my new octo and would like to use the DIMU with the CAN Bus support on the FC side.

Please let me know if there is a DIMU available.

Cheers

Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby JussiH » Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:17 pm

Morning Christof

The DIMU is not ready yet - I am waiting for update from factory. It was sent to production last week (found some soldermask issues that had to be solved, so it got delayed a bit) Usually it takes 2-4 weeks to get prototypes done at our manufactorer.

Creating a DIY CAN expander for AQ6 would be very simple. Its basically just 1 SOIC, 1 resistor and 1 capacitor. Could probably be done in a single layer or even straight on the chip with some simple wiring. If there is interest, I can draw up a schematic for it.

Cheers

Jussi
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby plexus » Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:03 pm

Hi jussih,
If it is a single layer, it is easy to do. Is a kit possible ?

Alain
plexus
 
Posts: 534
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:30 pm
Location: South of France

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby joebar.rc » Mon Oct 21, 2013 5:05 pm

JussiH wrote:Morning Christof

The DIMU is not ready yet - I am waiting for update from factory. It was sent to production last week (found some soldermask issues that had to be solved, so it got delayed a bit) Usually it takes 2-4 weeks to get prototypes done at our manufactorer.

Creating a DIY CAN expander for AQ6 would be very simple. Its basically just 1 SOIC, 1 resistor and 1 capacitor. Could probably be done in a single layer or even straight on the chip with some simple wiring. If there is interest, I can draw up a schematic for it.

Cheers

Jussi


And 3v3 LDO with capacitors :), thanks for the update Jussi.
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby JussiH » Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:19 pm

I would say that the 3.3V LDO is not needed, we could probably get 3v3 from the same rail that feeds the main MCU, and still be safe, but I´d have to look at the DS for the CAN transceiver to know its exact power requirements.

Doing it in 1 layer is possible, but there is little sense, unless its for DIY. These days, an acceptable 2 layer PCB can be had from places like Iteadstudio in 12 days at under 1 dollar per piece, so I rarely bother with etching my own PCBs anymore, and milling them is something I never had much success with.

As its just a SOIC-8, 2 passives and 6 wires, making the needed connections directly on the transceiver chip or using a protoboard, would probably be the simplest and cheapest solution for adding CAN to AQ6. I´ll draw up some docu on that in the coming days.
JussiH
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2012 9:25 pm

Re: new hardware revision autoquad?

Postby chschmid » Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:53 pm

Thanks Jussi.
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Next

Return to AutoQuad 6 Flight Controller

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron