PWM doesn't work anymore

Info and Discussion about the ESC32 hardware and software

Re: PWM doesn't work anymore

Postby chschmid » Mon Jun 22, 2015 6:11 pm

Hi David

Do you have RX - TX, TX - RX connected? If you have your FDTI cable with the black wire on the GND side, you need a straight connection to the ESC32.
I usually short BOOT Pins and keep them shorted, connect FDTI, then the mains (batt), then flash.

Cheers
Christof
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: PWM doesn't work anymore

Postby David Salvador » Mon Jun 22, 2015 6:19 pm

I have TX and RX well connected. The communication is working fine, i can run the motor via ftdi with no problem. The only thing i can't do is flash the esc32 again and run the esc32 via pwm.
David Salvador
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:40 pm

Re: PWM doesn't work anymore

Postby chschmid » Mon Jun 22, 2015 9:15 pm

Did you try that, in this order? And no other serial connection open! Just start QGC new, short BOOT Pins and keep them shorted, connect FDTI, then the mains (batt), then flash.
chschmid
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 7:41 pm
Location: Herrliberg, Switzerland

Re: PWM doesn't work anymore

Postby David Salvador » Mon Jun 22, 2015 10:06 pm

Yes, i tried in that order. And the error remains the same.
David Salvador
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:40 pm

Re: PWM doesn't work anymore

Postby Max » Mon Jun 22, 2015 10:18 pm

If ESC power jumper is set to V5 position, then you definitely don't need battery hooked up. In fact I'd avoid it, especially if there's a motor connected as well. 5v from the FTDI adapter, with no other power hooked up, is my personal preference.

-Max
Max
 
Posts: 2814
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:45 pm
Location: Near Ithaca, NY, USA

Re: PWM doesn't work anymore

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:33 am

Max wrote:If ESC power jumper is set to V5 position, then you definitely don't need battery hooked up. In fact I'd avoid it, especially if there's a motor connected as well. 5v from the FTDI adapter, with no other power hooked up, is my personal preference.

-Max


+1 - only FTDI, no motor, no battery during FW-programming.
You can use a pair of tweezers for shorting the BOOT-jumper. Sometimes you will have to scratch the HAL surface (solder pads surface) a little bit (be careful) to get a good contact. The shelf life of that surface is 12 months --> after that they will have a light oxidation and need some 'extra care' before soldering.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: PWM doesn't work anymore

Postby David Salvador » Tue Jun 23, 2015 12:28 pm

I know that. First i short the BOOT0, then i connect the FTDI. The ESC power jumper is set to 5v position, so i don't connect the battery. And the motores are also not connected.
I even try to sold the boot jumper, to make sure they are well connected.
David Salvador
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 1:40 pm

Previous

Return to ESC32

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests