How to determine ESC32 Hardware Version

Info and Discussion about the ESC32 hardware and software

How to determine ESC32 Hardware Version

Postby EtheAv8r » Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:34 pm

I have 4 off ESC32 purchased last summer, but I so not know what hardware version they are (for downloading the right ESC32 Firmware). How do I determine exactly what they are please?
EtheAv8r
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:39 am

Re: How to determine ESC32 Hardware Version

Postby kinderkram » Thu Feb 26, 2015 5:56 pm

HW version is the same on all ESC32s. Only the CAN chip makes a difference hw wise but fw is the same.

Latest fw version is v2.1 from December:
ftp://ftp.autoquad.org/3/334693_22529/esc32-firmware/
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: How to determine ESC32 Hardware Version

Postby EtheAv8r » Thu Feb 26, 2015 6:39 pm

Once again, thank you Kind Sir!
EtheAv8r
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:39 am

Re: How to determine ESC32 Hardware Version

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Thu Feb 26, 2015 7:19 pm

Check your ESC32 if they have the CAN transceiver mounted (components marked in the pic)
SANY0369.jpg
CAN transceiver


Since you're using DIMU you can also use CAN to connect the FC to your ESCs. Find some more info here in the wiki http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/esc32/can-bus/

Using CAN gives you better noise immunity (in case of long wires to your ESC) and some more gizmos like ESC32 telemetry.

Rgds
Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: How to determine ESC32 Hardware Version

Postby EtheAv8r » Sat Feb 28, 2015 2:35 pm

Thank you Joerg, that is very useful. My ESC32's do not have the CAN transceiver installed, but I take it that if obtain 4 of these chips, then I can upgrade them to the latest spec myself? do I, as with the DIMU upgrade, solder a socket to the ESC32 and then plug in the chip?

Many thanks for your help.

Edmund
EtheAv8r
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:39 am

Re: How to determine ESC32 Hardware Version

Postby kinderkram » Sat Feb 28, 2015 9:06 pm

It´s just the chip, Edmund. A socket would be slightly overdozed.
With CAN enabled you can use the latest features and a simplified wiring.

Norbert
kinderkram
 
Posts: 2911
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 7:47 am

Re: How to determine ESC32 Hardware Version

Postby EtheAv8r » Sun Mar 01, 2015 12:45 pm

OK thank you. 4 CAN transceiver chips and the capacitors on order.
EtheAv8r
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 10:39 am


Return to ESC32

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron