3.3v on logic side

Info and Discussion about the ESC32 hardware and software

3.3v on logic side

Postby mathez » Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:26 pm

Hi,

i'm wondering if it is possible to run the ESC32 with 3.3v on the logic side instead of 5v. Maybe change/remove some parts. The schematic seems not available to the public so i can't decide. Does anyone has some idea?

Many thanks in advance
mathez
mathez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:17 pm

Re: 3.3v on logic side

Postby joebar.rc » Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:32 pm

mathez wrote:Hi,

i'm wondering if it is possible to run the ESC32 with 3.3v on the logic side instead of 5v. Maybe change/remove some parts. The schematic seems not available to the public so i can't decide. Does anyone has some idea?

Many thanks in advance
mathez


Well... the stm32f103 is 3v3, a linear regulator is in fact lowering the 5v to 3v3. Dont know about the ir2301. Can bus transceiver is also 3v3.
If the 5v is not used as reference, than it might be possible.. may I ask why?
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: 3.3v on logic side

Postby mathez » Tue Jul 22, 2014 8:41 pm

Hi,

i'm using 3.3v logic on all my microcontrollers. Currently i am doing some experiments controlling the esc32 via i2c and logging data via uart. I changed the firmware to my needs but i need 2 level converters for both i2c and serial and i need another 5v source... just hoped i could save those additional parts
mathez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:17 pm

Re: 3.3v on logic side

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Tue Jul 22, 2014 9:06 pm

mathez wrote:Hi,

i'm using 3.3v logic on all my microcontrollers. Currently i am doing some experiments controlling the esc32 via i2c and logging data via uart. I changed the firmware to my needs but i need 2 level converters for both i2c and serial and i need another 5v source... just hoped i could save those additional parts


Hi,

Both the UART and the I2C are 3v3! No need to use a level converter to 'talk' to other 3v3 logic.

You can supply the ESC32 from the LiPo (min. 2S) by soldering the jumper to VB.
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: 3.3v on logic side

Postby mathez » Tue Jul 22, 2014 10:08 pm

Hi,

i know i could set the vb jumper. But then i always have to connect the motor power supply which is unvompfortable for testing anf bears the risk of bricking it. That was why i was asking...
mathez
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:17 pm


Return to ESC32

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron