ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Info and Discussion about the ESC32 hardware and software

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Wed Sep 17, 2014 6:03 am

Hi TheBone,

what is your boom diameter? You can see/hear lots of vibrations.

Again, be sure to set a current limit for your ESC32.

Calibration finished, but did you try to accellerate the motor for simulating 'real-life-condistions'? You can do this by connecting a servo tester to the ESC32 PWM input or by QGC. I prefer to do it by QGC.

dummy.jpg
dummy.jpg (10.17 KiB) Viewed 3868 times

Arm the ESC32 and change the desired RPM i.e. to the max. RPM value (look at your voltage calibration values). By clicking set the motor will accelerate to the requested RPM.

ATTENTION: This can generate some quite impressive noise and smoke! Be sure to have a current limit set, otherwise your engine will get burned if it's not able to do this! The motor needs to be able to follow each load change without stalling! Try different values (accelerate/decelerate) until you're sure everything's fine.
I have made some successful calibration runs but the motor/prop was not able to follow each command --> you need to alter some parameters, do the calibration/test again until it works.

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby LPR » Wed Sep 17, 2014 2:29 pm

Chris

I've played with eight U8 T-motors using the two piece 29" T-motor props and I found the props need to be carefully aligned to have them balanced.

To get the prop aligned I bolted the two piece prop together on the extra provided hub meant to be for shaft motors. I balanced the prop while in the vertical position by changing the alignment of the prop blades. I then used very thick cardboard template that fit halfway around the hub portion that is between the prop and the motor. Then I marked the position of the tips of the props so when the prop is bolted on the motor, your template can make it possible to realign the two piece prop to obtain a good prop balance.

If you can get the prop blades aligned you will have very little vibration but it's not easy.

I really don't like two piece props.

Larry
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby TheBone » Fri Sep 19, 2014 12:18 pm

I set the limit to 30A. I don't know, why the screen shot doesn't show this parameter. Perhaps I changed it in this moment. Do you think it's enough?

aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:Hi Chris,

Be shure to change your max current to something suitible! It's 0.0 in your screenshot --> no current limit --> you will burn your motor fast and easy! Missed it once when calibrating a T-Motor; luckily that one could take quite a punch. It got that hot I burned my finger when touching it!
TheBone
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:50 pm

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby aBUGSworstnightmare » Fri Sep 19, 2014 2:12 pm

TheBone wrote:I set the limit to 30A. I don't know, why the screen shot doesn't show this parameter. Perhaps I changed it in this moment. Do you think it's enough?

aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:Hi Chris,

Be shure to change your max current to something suitible! It's 0.0 in your screenshot --> no current limit --> you will burn your motor fast and easy! Missed it once when calibrating a T-Motor; luckily that one could take quite a punch. It got that hot I burned my finger when touching it!


Hi TheBone,
I can't tell from the Parameters only! Pls post your RPMTOVOLTAGE_RESULT.txt and CURRENTLIMITER_RESULT.TXT so we can have a look at.

The principle is explained her: http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/esc32/esc ... libration/

Joerg
aBUGSworstnightmare
 
Posts: 1460
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:24 pm

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby TheBone » Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:57 am

Hi Joerg,

Thank you for your infos. I knew what the meaning of the different tests, but i doesen't know the result files. I uploaded them and watched them as well and I think my max. current is far to low. Do you see anything else?
Thank you in advance.

Chris
Attachments
RPMTOVOLTAGE_RESULT.txt
(798 Bytes) Downloaded 128 times
CURRENTLIMITER_RESULT.TXT
(2.17 KiB) Downloaded 123 times
Last edited by TheBone on Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
TheBone
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:50 pm

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby TheBone » Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:02 am

aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:Hi Chris,

Be shure to change your max current to something suitible! It's 0.0 in your screenshot --> no current limit --> you will burn your motor fast and easy! Missed it once when calibrating a T-Motor; luckily that one could take quite a punch. It got that hot I burned my finger when touching it!


I watched my values after i calibrated the ESC and after that it seems to be that the max. current are reseted to 0.0. Is this right? I think not. Now I know why the value was 0.0 at the last time I posted a screenshot.
Last edited by TheBone on Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
TheBone
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:50 pm

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby TheBone » Tue Sep 23, 2014 2:12 am

Sry. but I have to ask you some questions to your post.

What do you mean with boom diameter? The diameter over all or from which to which point you take the length?
The vibrations are a problem. I know that. I poorly chosen the FCP-HL XL Frame from flyduino with a 18mm tube. I think that was not enough and I already try to reduce the vibrations with some additional cross-frame-parts. I hope that will be enough.

I tried to test it under real conditions but even when I change the RPM-Value the motor generate a such loud noise and then the motor stops. I can't believe that this is normal.

aBUGSworstnightmare wrote:Hi TheBone,

what is your boom diameter? You can see/hear lots of vibrations.

Again, be sure to set a current limit for your ESC32.

Calibration finished, but did you try to accellerate the motor for simulating 'real-life-condistions'? You can do this by connecting a servo tester to the ESC32 PWM input or by QGC. I prefer to do it by QGC.

dummy.jpg

Arm the ESC32 and change the desired RPM i.e. to the max. RPM value (look at your voltage calibration values). By clicking set the motor will accelerate to the requested RPM.

ATTENTION: This can generate some quite impressive noise and smoke! Be sure to have a current limit set, otherwise your engine will get burned if it's not able to do this! The motor needs to be able to follow each load change without stalling! Try different values (accelerate/decelerate) until you're sure everything's fine.
I have made some successful calibration runs but the motor/prop was not able to follow each command --> you need to alter some parameters, do the calibration/test again until it works.

Joerg
TheBone
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:50 pm

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby LPR » Tue Sep 23, 2014 3:24 am

Christ

That noise you're hearing is the U8 losing sink because it's trying to change rpm faster then then motor is capable of.

You must lower the amps that you're calibrate the U8 with and lower the Max amps that you run the motors with.

If you look at the T-Motor charts for U8 motors and 29' props with 6s lipo you will see the max amps this combination uses is around 23 amps.

To be safe I would set the ESC32 to 20 amps for both calibration and for running the motors.

Larry
Last edited by LPR on Tue Sep 23, 2014 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby TheBone » Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:40 pm

Hey, I'm the Christ. :P

I thought that I have to increase the max. amps to make the motor running smother. I'll try your tip and post the results, when it's done. Thank you.

EDIT:
I tested the MAX_CURRENT 40A and 20A and both have it pros. xD With 40A I have the most power. I can so to 100% Throttle and everything is fine. Poorly with 40A the motor starts not so smooth like I wish to be.
With 20A the motor starts very nice. The cons at 20A are, that at 65% Throttle it seems to be, that there is not enough power to rise the RPM up.
Any ideas?
TheBone
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2014 2:50 pm

Re: ESC32 with T-Motor U8-Pro

Postby LPR » Fri Sep 26, 2014 3:02 am

Chris

You are using 5s lipos, right?

I don't know how high you could go with 5s lipos but I would guess around 30 amps. Changing timing from 15 to 20 or more might help smooth the motors some.

Larry
LPR
 
Posts: 1323
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2012 1:29 pm
Location: MN, USA

PreviousNext

Return to ESC32

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron