Camera: Shutter & Zoom

For everything that doesn't fit into the other (sub-) forums

Camera: Shutter & Zoom

Postby ©Anderl » Wed Jul 18, 2012 7:46 pm

Hi all, I´m new here! My name is Anderl and I write from Spain.

Congratulations for the grat job.

I have any questions: Does anyone know how I can use some of the 14 PWM ports (400 HZ) to control shutter and zoom features of an on-board camera? The idea is to control these features via external trigger port (2.5mm) or Infrared (for those cameras that supports this).

I'm thinking something like this:
http://mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/ShutterCable

Or like this:
http://www.mikrokopter.de/ucwiki/en/IR-Ctrl

Thanks you all

Edit:
Hi all,
Looking for the solution to the question, Ifound this here:

http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/products.htm

What do you think? This seems to be the solution I needed to triggering cameras via IR o r 2.5 plugin jack. However, I still have a doubt: what's with the 400 hz? I guess I have to make the changes myself in the source code and compile a new hex:

http://autoquad.org/wiki/wiki/developme ... equencies/

In my opinion, this will be a problem for many people (for me too). Therefore, I would also ask for a solution to the problem via GCS.

Thanks.
©Anderl
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2012 6:44 pm

Re: Camera: Shutter & Zoom

Postby Mike Barton » Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:41 am

The 400Hz is just the PWM output frequency that the timers run at for the output pins.

In reality this shouldn't be a problem because you don't want to use PWM output - the 14 (PWM) outputs can all be considered as GPIO (General Purpose I/O) pins and can be used for most purposes.
Because I'm having to explain this to you sort of tells me you *may* have problems!

This sort of deleopment is almost certainly outside the scope of what the developers would consider, especially at this early stage.

To make the code changes, you (<- note!) will need to disable the PWM timer output from your chosen pin(s) and also link the control of these pin(s) to your chosen Rx channel without messing anything up....

<edit>just to add, there may be other caveats such as GCS integration etc etc
Mike Barton
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2012 11:38 pm

Re: Camera: Shutter & Zoom

Postby Meez » Tue Aug 07, 2012 4:33 pm

Me too, up to now i can't find much info about camera shutter/control from this FC. Hope someone will explain about it here. I dont think everyone purchased this FC just to watch it fully autonomous flying capability without taking good photos.
Meez
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:13 pm

Re: Camera: Shutter & Zoom

Postby joebar.rc » Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:11 pm

It is indeed outside the scope for this moment, although it is not that difficult.
It would however not be part of the code right now I guess, but more as an add-on and would require an development suite as explained in the wiki.
Just curious, what would the output need to do ?
Example, if needed to trigger by a switch (3 way switch), what sort of output should it get or does that need to be in setable parameters.
Not everything can be done directly in the GCS, we have only 1 GCS developer. But manual setable parameters is not a problem.

Note: not that I say it will be created at once, but maybe in some spare time some code examples could be written.

ps. just to give an inside:
Somewhere a pwm port needs to be declared with the frequency and portnumber
Code: Select all
   if (p[SIGPWM_OUTPUT_PORT] >= 1.0f)
   sigData.signalpwmOut = pwmInitOut((uint8_t)(p[SIGPWM_OUTPUT_PORT] - 1.0f), 10000, 1000, 0);   // init PWM signal output on port with 400Hz and default 1000us output


then the requested signal must be outputted;
Code: Select all
void sigPwmUpdate (unsigned long pwm_sig) {
    uint16_t pwm;

   pwm = constrainInt(pwm_sig, 1000, 2000 );
       *sigData.signalpwmOut->ccr = pwm;
}


with for example;
Code: Select all
sigPwmUpdate(1350);


Now only a switch is to be read and that should control the sigPwmUpdate..

Damn, now I already started with the code :)

Cheers,

Menno
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: Camera: Shutter & Zoom

Postby Meez » Tue Aug 07, 2012 5:30 pm

The best place to get the output info is here http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/shutter-zoom.htm

For MK, all control can be set from GCS i.e. shooting interval, shooting via waypoint. In most of my case, i will set in GCS 5 sec interval and it only activate after switch to Auto flying but i do also (same time) set it thru rc spring loaded switch to check camera function before each auto flying.
Meez
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:13 pm

Re: Camera: Shutter & Zoom

Postby joebar.rc » Tue Aug 07, 2012 6:41 pm

Can only say, don't hold your breath. This is an example for extra's that either the community will pick up, or the main developer.
MK is in business for years and all those features didn't came at once. I'm a bit interested but as it is a community project and not a business like MK we must buy to test the stuff from the hobby budget.
So I'll try to make something for simple manual trigger and maybe go from there...
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands

Re: Camera: Shutter & Zoom

Postby Meez » Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:14 pm

thanks for your kind words. I will follow the progress closely before make an order. FYI, i'm MR RTF builder and seller and i'm looking for a complete solution since most of my customer is either a University staff/student or gorverment staff which non rc background. The auto takeoff feature is what i'm looking for so far and i can't get it with MK. Plus license requirement for full range autonomous flying is really expensive and rediculous (USD2k for 1 km!).
Meez
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2012 5:13 pm

Re: Camera: Shutter & Zoom

Postby joebar.rc » Wed Aug 08, 2012 1:02 pm

Meez wrote:thanks for your kind words. I will follow the progress closely before make an order. FYI, i'm MR RTF builder and seller and i'm looking for a complete solution since most of my customer is either a University staff/student or gorverment staff which non rc background. The auto takeoff feature is what i'm looking for so far and i can't get it with MK. Plus license requirement for full range autonomous flying is really expensive and rediculous (USD2k for 1 km!).



No problem, but it is a young project. The auto take off is beautiful, in the current available source that is still manual inserted but Peter (GCS developer) did send me a new android app this morning and I tested that with the AQ 6.6 (r19).
You can see your position and the AQ position on a map, tap and hold and select the command ie takeoff.
You can adjust the takeoff vertical speed, the altitude (relative or absolute) and the time before it will go to the next command.

Working very good and the orbit command is so nice.
I'll make a vid soon, although Bills video is the best one out there. But in mine I'll show how simple it is 'on the road'.

MK's feature set is obviously enormous, but it comes at a price. DJI and newcomer ys x6 all introduce some limitations with upgrade prices but thats to be expected. AQ is so new and already an almost complete set of usable options. Wonder how it will be after a year.


Cheers,

Menno
joebar.rc
 
Posts: 1084
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:59 am
Location: The netherlands


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron